Bryce Harper narrowly wins NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award

Washington Nationals outfielder Bryce Harper won the National League Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award in a close election over Arizona Diamondbacks pitcher Wade Miley, the BBWAA announced on MLB Network today.

Harper (.270, 22 home runs, 59 RBI) placed first on 16 ballots cast by two writers representing each league city, second on eight and third on eight for a total of 112 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. He was the only player listed on each ballot. Miley (16-11, 3.33 ERA) received 12 first-place votes, 13 for second and six for third to score 105 points. The seven-point differential was the fourth closest in the history of NL voting.

The closest race in the NL since the current system was adopted in 1980 occurred in 2007 when Ryan Braun, then a third baseman for the Milwaukee Brewers, won over Colorado Rockies shortstop Troy Tulowitzki, 128-126. Other NL elections closer than this year were in 2006 when Florida Marlins shortstop Hanley Ramirez won over Nationals third baseman Ryan Zimmerman, 105-101, and in 1982 when the Los Angeles Dodgers’ Steve Sax beat out the Pittsburgh Pirates’ Johnny Ray, 63-57, in a race between second baseman. Prior to 1980, writers voted for one player. The 1976 election resulted in the only NL tie, between pitchers Butch Metzger of the San Diego Padres and Pat Zachry of the Cincinnati Reds.

Reds infielder Todd Frazier (.273, 19 HR, 67 RBI) received three first-place votes and finished third. The other first place vote went to Colorado Rockies catcher Wilin Rosario (.270, 28 HR, 71 RBI), who placed fourth.

Harper led NL rookies in runs (98), total bases (254), triples (9), extra-base hits (57), multi-hit games (45) and outfield assists (8). He did not turn 20 until October 16, which means Harper was only one month older than Dwight Gooden was when the New York Mets pitcher became the youngest Rookie of the Year winner in 1984. Gooden turned 20 Nov. 16 that year. Harper is the first Nationals player to win the award since the franchise shift of 2005. Montreal Expos winners were Carl Morton and Andre Dawson.

The voting (5-3-1 scoring system):

2012 NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Name, Team1st2nd3rdPoints
Bryce Harper, Nationals1688112
Wade Miley, Diamondbacks12136105
Todd Frazier, Reds37945
Wilin Rosario, Rockies12112
Norichika Aoki, Brewers2511
Yonder Alonso, Padres11
Matt Carpenter, Cardinals11
Jordan Pachecho, Rockies11

Below is a breakdown of the 32 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each team in the National League. Note that in some cases (*), when a city does not have enough eligible voters, a writer from another city will represent that chapter. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Guy CurtrightHonorary ATLMileyFrazierHarper
Ken DavidoffNew York PostATL*HarperMileyAoki
Nick PiecoroArizona RepublicAZMileyHarperFrazier
Keith LawESPN.comAZHarperMileyAoki
Christina KahrlESPN.comCHIHarperMileyFrazier
Dan McGrathChicago News OpCHIHarperMileyFrazier
John ErardiCincinnati EnquirerCINFrazierHarperMiley
Tom GroeschenCincinnati EnquirerCINHarperMileyFrazier
Patrick SaundersDenver PostCOLMileyRosarioHarper
Jack EtkinHonoraryCOLMileyHarperPacheco
Zachary LevineHouston ChronicleHOUMileyHarperAoki
Kevin KernanNew York PostHOU*HarperMileyFrazier
Hideki OkudaSports Nippon NewspaperLAMileyHarperAoki
J.P. HoornstraLos Angeles News GroupLAMileyFrazierHarper
Enrique RojasESPNdeportes.comMIARosarioMileyHarper
Luis E. RangelEl Nuevo HeraldMIAMileyHarperAoki
Dennis SemrauWisconsin State JournalMILMileyAokiHarper
Jeff HorriganHonoraryMILMileyRosarioHarper
Peter BotteNew York Daily NewsNYHarperMileyRosario
Dan MartinNew York PostNYMileyFrazierHarper
Paul HagenAt LargePHIHarperFrazierMiley
Michael SanserinoPittsburgh Post GazettePITMileyHarperFrazier
Kevin CooneyBucks County Courier TimesPITFrazierHarperMiley
John PerrottoBaseball ProspectusPITHarperMileyFrazier
Bill CenterU-T San DiegoSDHarperFrazierAlonso
Chris JenkinsU-T San DiegoSDFrazierMileyHarper
Andrew BaggarlyAt LargeSFHarperMileyFrazier
Jeff FletcherAt LargeSFHarperMileyFrazier
Bryan BurwellSt. Louis Post DispatchSTLHarperMileyCarpenter
David WilhelmBelleville News DemocratSTLHarperFrazierMiley
Deron SnyderWashington TimesWASHarperFrazierMiley
Paul WhiteUSA TodayWASHarperAokiMiley