Dodgers’ ace Clayton Kershaw wins another NL Cy Young Award

Los Angeles Dodgers left-hander Clayton Kershaw joined the list of multiple Cy Young Award winners by earning his second National League honor in balloting by the BBWAA that was announced on MLB Network.

Kershaw, who posted a 16-9 record and led the league in ERA (1.83) and strikeouts (232) for the NL West champion Dodgers, was listed first on 29 of the 30 ballots cast by two writers representing each league city and second on the other one for a total of 207 points, based on a tabulation system that rewards seven points for first place, four for second, three for third, two for fourth and one for fifth. He was the only pitcher named to each ballot.

The other first-place vote went to St. Louis Cardinals righthander Adam Wainwright (19-9, 2.94 ERA), who placed second with 86 points. Miami Marlins righthander Jose Fernandez (12-6, 2.19 ERA), the NL winner of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award earlier in the week, finished third with 62 points. In all, 10 pitchers gained mention.

Kershaw, 25, who won the award in 2011 and was the runner-up in 2012, became the ninth multi-winner in the NL and 17th overall. Randy Johnson, Greg Maddux and Steve Carlton each won four times in the NL and Sandy Koufax and Tom Seaver three times apiece. Other two-time winners in the NL were Bob Gibson, Tom Glavine and Tim Lincecum. There have been six American League multi-winners and two pitchers who won once in each league.

Roger Clemens is the all-time leader in Cy Young Awards with seven – six in the AL and one in the NL. Johnson also won once in the AL. Jim Palmer was a three-time winner in the AL. Other two-time winners in the AL were Denny McLain, Bret Saberhagen, Johan Santana and Pedro Martinez (who also won once in the NL). Gaylord Perry and Roy Halladay were one-time winners in each league.

It marked the 10th time a Dodgers pitcher was honored, going back to the first year of the award when Don Newcombe won for Brooklyn in 1956. Other Dodgers winners in addition to Koufax (whose victories came in 1963, ’65 and ’66 and were all unanimous) were Don Drysdale in 1962, Mike Marshall in 1974, Fernando Valenzuela in 1981, Orel Hershiser in 1988 and Eric Gagne in 2003.

The voting (7-4-3-2-1 scoring system):

2013 NL Cy Young

Player, Club1st2nd3rd4th5thPoints
Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers291207
Adam Wainwright, Cardinals11541586
Jose Fernandez, Marlins935762
Craig Kimbrel, Braves418439
Matt Harvey, Mets184339
Cliff Lee, Phillies66232
Jordan Zimmerman, Nationals6321
Zack Greinke, Dodgers24418
Madison Bumgarner, Giants113
Francisco Liriano, Pirates113

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. Note that in some cases (*), when a city does not have enough eligible voters, a voter from another city represents that chapter. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.
Guy CurtrightAt LargeATL Kershaw Kimbrel Wainwright Greinke Fernandez
Danny KnoblerCBSSports.comATL* Kershaw Wainwright Fernandez Greinke Harvey
Bob McManaman Arizona RepublicAZKershawWainwrightZimmermanHarveyGreinke
Jack MagruderFOX Sports ArizonaAZKershawWainwrightLeeFernandezKimbrel
Paul SullivanChicago TribuneCHIKershawWainwrightZimmermanKimbrelFernandez
Gordon WittenmyerChicago Sun TimesCHIKershawWainwrightLeeGreinkeZimmermann
Mark SchmetzerReds ReportCIN Wainwright Kershaw Zimmerman Fernandez Lee
Hal McCoyAt LargeCINKershawWainwrightZimmermanLirianoGreinke
Patrick Saunders Denver PostCOL Kershaw Wainwright Zimmerman Kimbrel Greinke
Jack EtkinHonoraryCOL Kershaw Wainwright Fernandez Harvey Kimbrel
Mark SaxonESPNLos Angeles.comLAKershawFernandezHarveyLeeKimbrel
Mark WhickerOrange County RegisterLA Kershaw Wainwright Kimbrel Fernandez Harvey
Luis E. RangelDiario Las AmericasMIAKershawFernándezHarveyLeeWainwright
Manny NavarroThe Miami HeraldMIAKershawFernandezHarveyGreinkeWainwright
Drew OlsonESPN MilwaukeeMIL Kershaw Kimbrel Wainwright Fernandez Zimmerman
Will CarrollBleacher ReportMIL*KershawWainwrightHarveyFernandezLee
Adam RubinESPNNew York.comNYKershawFernandezHarveyKimbrelWainwright
Michael KerwickBergen RecordNYKershawFernandezHarveyLeeWainwright
Ryan LawrencePhiladelphia Daily NewsPHIKershawHarveyFernandezLeeWainwright
Kevin P. CooneyBucks County Courier TimesPHIKershawWainwrightGrienkeKimbrelLiriano
Travis SawchikPittsburgh Tribune-ReviewPITKershawWainwrightHarveyLeeFernandez
John PerrottoUSA TODAYPIT Kershaw Wainwright Lee Kimbrel Fernandez
Chris JenkinsU-T San DiegoSDKershawFernandezGreinkeHarveyKimbrel
John MaffeiU-T San DiegoSDKershawKimbrelZimmermanWainwrightGreinke
Ray RattoCSN Bay AreaSF Kershaw Fernandez Harvey Kimbrel Bumgarner
Andrew BaggarlyCSN Bay AreaSFKershawWainwrightLeeBumgarnerFernandez
Berie MiklaszSt. Louis Post-DispatchSTLKershawWainwrightLeeHarveyFernandez
Joe StraussSt. Louis Post-DispatchSTLKershawKimbrelWainwrightLeeFernandez
Ken RosenthalFOX Sports.comWASKershawFernandezWainwrightKimbrelHarvey
Amanda Comak Washington TimesWASKershawFernandezLeeKimbrelZimmermann