Despite recent drought for pitchers, Michael Fulmer wins AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Michael Fulmer of the Detroit Tigers is the 16th pitcher overall and the 10th starter, only the third in the past 35 years, to win the AL award. There have been 16 starting pitchers who won in the National League, most recently Jacob deGrom in 2014.

This election marks the fifth time a Tigers player has been honored. The others were Harvey Kuenn in 1953, Mark Fidrych in 1976, Lou Whitaker in 1978 and Justin Verlander in 2006.

It marked the fifth time a player on the Yankees, who have had eight winners, finished second. Other Yankees runners-up were Whitey Ford in 1950, Kevin Maas in 1990, Hideki Matsui in 2003 and Robinson Cano in 2005.

Fulmer was the only player named on every ballot.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2016 AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Name, Team1st2nd3rdPoints
Michael Fulmer, Tigers264142
Gary Sanchez, Yankees423291
Tyler Naquin, Indians21420
Chris Devenski, Astros147
Edwin Diaz, Mariners44
Nomar Mazara, Rangers44
Tim Anderson, White Sox22

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the American League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Eddie MatzESPN.comBALFulmerSanchezDevenski
Brittany GhiroliMLB.comBALFulmerSanchezDiaz
Evan DrellichBoston HeraldBOSFulmerSanchezDevenski
Scott LauberESPN.comBOSSanchezFulmerNaquin
Scott MerkinMLB.comCHIFulmerSanchezDiaz
Bruce Levinecbschicgo.comCHIFulmerSanchezDiaz
Tom WithersAssociated PressCLEFulmerSanchezMazara
Anthony CastrovinceMLB.comCLESanchezFulmerNaquin
Noah TristerThe Associated PressDETFulmerSanchezDevenski
George SippleDetroit Free PressDETFulmerSanchezNaquin
Kristie RiekenThe Associated PressHOUFulmerSanchezNaquin
Alyson FooterMLB.comHOUFulmerSanchezNaquin
Joe PosnanskiNBC SportsKCSanchezFulmerAnderson
David BrownVICE SportsKCFulmerSanchezAnderson
Greg BeachamAssociated PressLAFulmerSanchezMazara
Brian GoldenAntelope Valley PressLASanchezFulmerDevenski
Patrick BorziAt LargeMINFulmerSanchezMazara
Dave CampbellAssociated PressMINFulmerDevenskiSanchez
Erik BolandNewsdayNYFulmerSanchezNaquin
Bryan HochMLB.comNYFulmerSanchezNaquin
Matt KawaharaThe Sacramento BeeOAKFulmerSanchezNaquin
Jane LeeMLB.comOAKFulmerSanchezNaquin
Greg JohnsMLB.comSEAFulmerSanchezDiaz
Jeff SullivanFanGraphsSEAFulmerSanchezNaquin
Marc TopkinTampa Bay TimesTBFulmerSanchezNaquin
Roger MooneyTampa Bay TimesTBFulmerSanchezNaquin
Kevin SherringtonDallas Morning NewsTEXFulmerSanchezNaquin
Stefan StevensonFort Worth Star-TelegramTEXFulmerNaquinMazara
Gregor ChisholmMLB.comTORFulmerSanchezNaquin
Scott MacArthurTSN.caTORFulmerNaquinSanchez