2007 NL Cy Young


San Diego Padres righthander Jake Peavy, who won the triple crown of pitching by leading his league in victories, earned run average and strikeouts, was a unanimous choice as the National League Cy Young Award winner in balloting by the BBWAA.

Peavy, 26, was listed first on all 32 ballots cast by two writers in each league city to score a perfect 160 points, based on a 5-3-1 tabulation system. It is the 12th time a pitcher in the NL has been a unanimous choice. It was achieved three times by Sandy Koufax, twice by Greg Maddux and once each by Bob Gibson, Steve Carlton, Rick Sutcliffe, Dwight Gooden, Orel Hershiser and Randy Johnson. There have been eight unanimous elections in the American League.

Peavy’s 19-6 season featured a 2.54 ERA and 240 strikeouts in 223⅓ innings but no complete games. He joins seven-time Cy Young Award winner Roger Clemens as the only starting pitchers to win the award without pitching a compete game. Clemens did it twice, in the AL with the New York Yankees in 2001 and in the NL with the Houston Astros in 2004.

Arizona Diamondbacks righthander Brandon Webb, the 2006 winner, was second this time with 94 points, based on 31 second-place votes and one third. He and Peavy were the only pitchers on all ballots.

Peavy is the fourth Padres pitcher honored, joining Randy Jones (1976), Gaylord Perry (1978) and Mark Davis (1989). Webb is the second NL pitcher to be the Cy Young runner-up the year after he won. The other was Tom Glavine in 1992.

The vote:

Player Club 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Jake Peavy San Diego Padres 32 160
Brandon Webb Arizona Diamondbacks 31 1 94
Brad Penny Los Angeles Dodgers 14 14
Aaron Harang Cincinnati Reds 1 7 10
Carlos Zambrano Chicago Cubs 3 3
Cole Hamels Philadelphia Phillies 2 2
John Smoltz Atlanta Braves 2 2
Jose Valverde Arizona Diamondbacks 2 2
Jeff Francis Colorado Rockies 1 1

Awards home