2008 NL Cy Young


Tim Lincecum of the San Francisco Giants was elected the National League Cy Young Award winner in balloting by the BBWAA. It marked only the second time in the 53-season history of the voting that a Giants pitcher was honored. The other was lefthander Mike McCormick in 1967, the first year the BBWAA presented awards in both leagues. Only one award was given out from 1956 through 1966.

Of the 32 ballots submitted by two writers in each league city, Lincecum was listed first on 23, second on seven and third on one to total 137 points, based on a 5-3-1 tabulation system. The righthander, 24, was 18-5 with a 2.62 ERA and led the NL in winning percentage (.783) and strikeouts (265).

Arizona Diamondbacks righthander Brandon Webb (22-7, 3.30 ERA) received four first-place votes and placed second overall with 73 points. Webb, the 2006 winner, was the runner-up for the second consecutive season, tying a mark shared in the NL by Warren Spahn (1960-61) and Curt Schilling (2001-02) and in the American League by Dan Quisenberry (1983-84).

Also receiving four first-place votes was New York Mets lefthander Johan Santana, the third-place finisher with 55 points. Santana, a two-time Cy Young Award winner in the AL, was 16-7 and led the NL in ERA (2.53) and innings (234⅓).

The other first-place vote went to Milwaukee Brewers lefthander CC Sabathia, last year’s AL winner, who was fifth overall behind Philadelphia Phillies reliever Brad Lidge (2-0, 1.95 ERA, 41 SV). Sabathia, traded from Cleveland to Milwaukee in July, was 11-2 with a 1.65 ERA and 7 complete games in the NL. Chicago Cubs righthander Ryan Dempster (17-6, 2.96 ERA), was the only other vote getter.

The vote:

Player Club 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Tim Lincecum San Francisco Giants 23 7 1 137
Brandon Webb Arizona Diamondbacks 4 15 8 73
Johan Santana New York Mets 4 8 11 55
Brad Lidge Philadelphia Phillies 1 7 10
CC Sabathia Milwaukee Brewers 1 1 1 9
Ryan Dempster Chicago Cubs 4 4

Awards home