2009 Managers of the Year

Rockies’ Jim Tracy Wins NL Award,
Angels’ Mike Scioscia Wins in AL


Jim Tracy, who took over the Colorado Rockies in late May when they were in last place and led them to the National League wild card, was named NL Manager of the Year in balloting by the BBWAA. It marked only the second time a manager hired in mid-season was honored. Tracy joins Jack McKeon, the 2003 winner with the Florida Marlins.

Tracy, 53, was listed first on 29 of the 32 ballots submitted by two writers in each league city and was second on two for a total of 151 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. No manager was named on every ballot.

The St. Louis Cardinals’ Tony La Russa, a four-time winner, received two first-place votes and finished second in the balloting for a record sixth time. The other first-place vote went to the Los Angeles Dodgers’ Joe Torre, a two-time winner in the American League. In all, eight managers gained mention.

Tracy was hired to replace Clint Hurdle as manager of the Rockies on May 29, when the club had a record of 18-28 and was 14 games out of first place. Colorado was 74-42 under Tracy and came within one game of the NL West-leading Dodgers on the final weekend of the season before losing its final two games in Los Angeles and settling for the wild card.

La Russa, the NL winner in 2002, also won three times in the AL, with the Oakland Athletics in 1988 and 1992 and with the Chicago White Sox in 1983. His other second-place finishes in the NL with the Cardinals were in 2000, 2004 and 2005 and in the AL with the A’s in 1989 and 1990.

The voting:

1st 2nd 3rd Points
Jim Tracy, Colorado Rockies 29 2 151
Tony La Russa, St. Louis Cardinals 2 13 6 55
Joe Torre, Los Angeles Dodgers 1 7 7 33
Bruce Bochy, San Francisco Giants 5 3 18
Bobby Cox, Atlanta Braves 3 6 15
Charlie Manuel, Philadelphia Phillies 2 4 10
Fredi Gonzalez, Florida Marlins 4 4
Bud Black, San Diego Padres 2 2

Scioscia Named Top Manager For 2nd Time


Mike Scioscia, who guided the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim to their third consecutive American League West title, was elected the AL Manager of the Year in balloting by the BBWAA. It was the second time Scioscia won the award. He was also honored in the Angels’ championship season of 2002.

Scioscia’s job in 2009 included keeping the Angels focused following the April 9 death of pitcher Nick Adenhart, who was killed in an automobile crash. They finished the regular season with a 97-65 record for their fifth division title in the past six years, the most of any club during that stretch.

Scioscia, 50, was listed first on 15 of 28 ballots cast by two writers from each league city, second on 10 and third on one to score 106 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. No manager was named on every ballot.

The Minnesota Twins’ Ron Gardenhire received six first-place votes and was the runner-up for the second straight year and fifth time overall, with a total of 72 points. The New York Yankees’ Joe Girardi, the 2006 winner in the National League with the Florida Marlins, was first on four ballots and placed third. The Seattle Mariners’ Ken Wakamatsu got two first-place votes and the Texas Rangers’ Ron Washington one.

Gardenhire’s fifth second-place finish is the most for an AL manager, breaking a tie he had been in with Art Howe. Gardenhire, also the runner-up in 2003, 2004, 2006 and 2008, still trails four-time Manager of the Year winner Tony La Russa for the most second-place finishes. La Russa ran second today in the NL balloting for the sixth time overall. La Russa was also second in the NL voting in 2000, 2004 and 2005 with the St. Louis Cardinals and in 1989 and 1990 in the AL with the Oakland Athletics.

The voting:

1st 2nd 3rd Points
Mike Scioscia, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim 15 10 1 106
Ron Gardenhire, Minnesota Twins 6 12 6 72
Joe Girardi, New York Yankees 4 3 5 34
Don Wakamatsu, Seattle Mariners 2 2 3 19
Ron Washington, Texas Rangers 1 1 11 19
Jim Leyland, Detroit Tigers 2 2

Award schedule

Monday, Nov. 16: AL & NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Awards.
Tuesday, Nov. 17: AL Cy Young Award.
Wednesday, Nov. 18: AL & NL Manager of the Year Awards.
Thursday, Nov. 19: NL Cy Young Award.
Monday, Nov. 23: AL Most Valuable Player Award.
Tuesday, Nov. 24: NL Most Valuable Player Award.