2009 Rookies of the Year

Andrew Bailey Wins AL Award, Chris Coghlan Wins in NL

baileyOakland right-hander Andrew Bailey, who emerged as the Athletics’ closer in his first major league season, was voted the American League winner of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award.

Bailey, 25, was listed first on 13 ballots submitted by two writers in each league city, second on six and third on five to score 88 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. Bailey’s 26 saves were far and away the most among AL relief pitchers, since no other reliever in the league had more than two. His 1.84 ERA was also the best among AL rookie pitchers. Bailey had 24 walks and 91 strikeouts in 83 1/3 innings in which he allowed only 47 hits. Opponents batted .167 against Bailey.

Texas Rangers shortstop Elvis Andrus, who batted .267 and led AL rookies in hits (128), runs (72), triples (8), total bases (179) and stolen bases (33), finished second in the balloting by one point over Detroit Tigers pitcher Rick Porcello (14-9, 3.96 ERA). Andrus placed first on eight ballots, second on six and third on seven for 65 points. Porcello was first on seven, second on eight and third on five for 64 points.

It marks the eighth time that an A’s player has won the rookie award, tying the New York Yankees for the most winners in the league. The overall mark is held by the Brooklyn and Los Angeles Dodgers in the National League with 16.

Bailey is the second Oakland closer to win in the past five elections, joining Huston Street in 2005. Other closers elected were Gregg Olson of the Baltimore Orioles in 1989 and Kazuhiro Sasaki of the Seattle Mariners in 2000. Yankees pitcher Dave Righetti was a starter when he won the award in 1981.

The voting.

1st 2nd 3rd Points
Andrew Bailey, Oakland Athletics 13 6 5 88
Elvis Andrus, Texas Rangers 8 6 7 65
Rick Porcello, Detroit Tigers 7 8 5 64
Jeff Niemann, Tampa Bay Rays 5 6 21
Gordon Beckham, Chicago White Sox 2 4 10
Brett Anderson, Oakland Athletics 1 1 4

Coghlan Wins Tight Race For NL Award

Getty ImagesFlorida Marlins outfielder Chris Coghlan was elected the National League winner of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award by the BBWAA. Although he was not on seven of the 32 ballots cast by two writers from each league city, Coghlan out-pointed Philadelphia Phillies pitcher J.A. Happ, the only player named on all ballots.

Coghlan, 24, was listed first on 17 ballots compared to 10 for Happ and finished with 105 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. Coghlan placed second on six ballots and third on two while Happ had 11 seconds and 11 thirds to total 94 points.

Coghlan led NL rookies in batting average (.321), runs (84), hits (162), doubles (31), total bases (232), multi-hit games (51) and on-base percentage (.390) in becoming the third Marlins player honored, joining Dontrelle Willis (2003) and Hanley Ramirez (2006). Happ was 12-4 with a 2.93 ERA and topped NL rookie pitchers in innings (166), strikeouts (119), complete games (3) and shutouts (2).

Atlanta Braves pitcher Tommy Hanson (11-4, 2.89 ERA) received two first-place votes and ranked third overall with 37 points. Also receiving two first-place votes was Pittsburgh Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen (.282, 12 HR, 54 RBI, 22 SB), who was fourth with 25 points. The other first-place vote went to Milwaukee Brewers infielder Casey McGehee (.301, 16 HR, 66 RBI), who was fifth with 18 points.

The voting.

1st 2nd 3rd Points
Chris Coghlan, Florida Marlins 17 6 2 105
J.A. Happ, Philadelphia Phillies 10 11 11 94
Tommy Hanson, Atlanta Braves 2 6 9 37
Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates 2 5 25
Casey McGehee, Milwaukee Brewers 1 3 4 18
Randy Wells, Chicago Cubs 1 3
Garret Jones, Pittsburgh Pirates 2 2
Everth Cabrera, San Diego Padres 1 1
Dexter Fowler, Colorado Rockies 1 1
Gerardo Parra, Arizona Diamondbacks 1 1
Colby Rasmus, St. Louis Cardinals 1 1

Award schedule

Monday, Nov. 16: AL & NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Awards.
Tuesday, Nov. 17: AL Cy Young Award.
Wednesday, Nov. 18: AL & NL Manager of the Year Awards.
Thursday, Nov. 19: NL Cy Young Award.
Monday, Nov. 23: AL Most Valuable Player Award.
Tuesday, Nov. 24: NL Most Valuable Player Award.