2010 Managers of the Year

Gardenhire Wins AL Award,
Black Wins in NL

Ron Gardenhire, who had been the runner-up in five previous elections, finished on top in 2010 in winning the American League Manager of the Year Award for the first time in balloting by the BBWAA.

Gardenhire, 53, was listed first on 16 of the 28 ballots cast by two writers from each league city, second on eight and third on four to score 108 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. He was the only manager named on every ballot.

Despite the loss to injury of closer Joe Nathan for the whole season and slugging first baseman Justin Morneau for half the schedule, Gardenhire directed the Minnesota Twins to a 94-68 record and won the AL Central title for the sixth time in his nine seasons at the helm. The Twins have had only one losing season under Gardenhire, whose career record is 803-656 (.550).

While Gardenhire has been consistent in guiding the Twins to first-place finishes, he failed to do so for himself in Manager of the Year Award balloting until this year. Gardenhire ran second in each of the past two years as well as in 2006, 2004 and 2003. His only consolation has been that the lone manager to have placed second more often is four-time winner Tony La Russa, who has been a runner-up six times.

Ron Washington, who led the Texas Rangers into the World Series for the first time in franchise history, was the runner-up in this year’s voting. He was first on 10 ballots and totaled 81 points. Balloting is conducted prior to post-season play.

The other first-place votes went to the Tampa Bay Rays’ Joe Maddon, the 2008 winner who placed third with 44 points, and the Toronto Blue Jays’ Cito Gaston, who retired at the end of the season.

Gardenhire became the second Minnesota manager honored, joining 1991 winner Tom Kelly.

The voting:

1st 2nd 3rd Points
Ron Gardenhire, Minnesota Twins 16 8 4 108
Ron Washington, Texas Rangers 10 8 7 81
Joe Maddon, Tampa Bay Rays 1 10 9 44
Terry Francona, Boston Red Sox 2 7 13
Cito Gaston, Toronto Blue Jays 1 5
Joe Girardi, New York Yankees 1 1

Black Edges Baker By 1 Point

Bud Black of the San Diego Padres narrowly out-pointed Dusty Baker of the Cincinnati Reds to win the National League Manager of the Year Award in one of the closest races in the history of BBWAA balloting. Black’s victory was by a single point, marking the third time in NL Manager voting that only one point separated the winner from the runner-up.

Although Baker, a three-time winner, appeared on one more ballot than Black, 27-26, Black was listed first on 16 ballots to Baker’s 13 among the 32 submitted by two writers in each league city. Black was second on seven ballots and third on three to total 104 points. Baker received 12 votes for second and two for third to score 103 points. Voting is tabulated on a 5-3-1 basis.

Also receiving one first-place vote apiece were the San Francisco Giants’ Bruce Bochy, who finished third with 30 points; the Atlanta Braves’ Bobby Cox, who was fourth with 28 points; and the Philadelphia Phillies’ Charlie Manuel, who was fifth with 20 points. The Houston Astros’ Brad Mills got one second-place vote for three points.

In his fourth season as manager of the Padres, Black led them to a 90-72 record, but a 3-0 loss to San Francisco on the last day of the season cost San Diego the NL West title that went to the Giants. The Padres’ record was the fourth best in franchise history, topped only by the 98-64 of 1998, the 92-70 of 1992 and the 91-71 of 1991.

Baker, who won the award while managing the Giants in 1993, 1997 and 2000, guided the Reds to their first NL Central title in 15 years.

In the first year of Manager of the Year balloting in 1983, voters selected only one manager, and the Los Angeles Dodgers’ Tommy Lasorda won over the Houston Astros’ Bob Lillis, 10-9. The next year, the BBWAA extended the ballot to three managers. In the 1985 election, the St. Louis Cardinals’ Whitey Herzog edged the Reds’ Pete Rose, 86-85.

There has been one tie in Manager of the Year voting, in the American League in 1996 between the Texas Rangers’ Johnny Oates and the New York Yankees’ Joe Torre. That same year in the NL, Bochy, then the manager of the Padres, won in a close vote over the Montreal Expos’ Felipe Alou, 76-74. Black joins Bochy as the only San Diego winners.

The voting:

1st 2nd 3rd Points
Bud Black, San Diego Padres 16 7 3 104
Dusty Baker, Cincinnati Reds 13 12 2 103
Bruce Bochy, San Francisco Giants 1 4 13 30
Bobby Cox, Atlanta Braves 1 4 11 28
Charlie Manuel, Philadelphia Phillies 1 4 3 20
Brad Mills, Houston Astros 1 3

Award schedule

Monday, Nov. 15: AL & NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Awards.
Tuesday, Nov. 16: NL Cy Young Award.
Wednesday, Nov. 17: AL & NL Manager of the Year Awards.
Thursday, Nov. 18: AL Cy Young Award.
Monday, Nov. 22: NL Most Valuable Player Award.
Tuesday, Nov. 23: AL Most Valuable Player Award.