Roy Halladay runs away with Cy Young race

Toronto Blue Jays righthander Roy Halladay was an overwhelming choice of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America as the American League Cy Young Award winner for 2003.

Halladay, 26, was named first on 26 ballots and second on the other two of ballots cast by two writers from each league city for a total of 136 points, based on a 5-3-1 tabulation system. He was the only pitcher named on all 28 ballots. The other two first-place votes went to Chicago White Sox righthander Esteban Loaiza, who was second on 16 ballots and third on five to place second overall with 63 points.

Halladay won 15 consecutive decisions from May 1 through July 27 and finished the season with a 22-7 record and a 3.25 earned run average. He led the AL in victories (22), games started (36) and innings pitched (266), tied for first in complete games (9) and was third in winning percentage (.759) and strikeouts (204). It marks the fourth time a Toronto pitcher has been honored. Roger Clemens won in 1998 and ’97, and Pat Hentgen in ’96.

Loaiza led the AL in strikeouts (207) while compiling a 21-9 record with a 2.90 ERA. Three-time Cy Young Award winner Pedro Martinez (14-4, 2.22 ERA, 206 strikeouts) of the Boston Red Sox ranked third in the balloting. In all, eight pitchers received votes.

The vote:

2003 AL Cy Young

ROY HALLADAYToronto262136
ESTEBAN LOAIZAChi. White Sox216563
TIM HUDSONOakland4315
JAMIE MOYERSeattle2612