Bobby Cox hauls in 3rd Manager of the Year award

Bobby Cox, who commanded the Atlanta Braves to an unprecedented 14th consecutive division title, was elected National League Manager of the Year in balloting by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Cox, 64, was honored for the fourth time, tying Tony La Russa for most victories in this category, and was the first manager to be elected in consecutive years. In addition to last year, Cox won in 1991 with the Braves and in 1985 in the American League with the Toronto Blue Jays. Similar to Cox, La Russa has won three times in one league (AL with the Chicago White Sox in 1983 and the Oakland Athletics in 1988 and 1992) and once in the other (NL with the St. Louis Cardinals in 2002). Cox also joins Dusty Baker as the only other three-time winner in the NL.

Of the 32 ballots cast by two writers in each NL city, Cox was named first on 28 and second on the other four for a total of 152 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. He was the only manager listed on every ballot. The Braves won the NL East with a 90-72 record by two games over the Philadelphia Phillies.

La Russa, whose Cardinals won the NL Central with the top record in the majors of 100-62, was the runner-up in the voting with 52 points, based on two first-place votes, 13 seconds and three thirds. The other two first-place votes went to the Washington Nationals’ Frank Robinson, who finished fourth overall with 29 points.

The third-place finisher with 38 points was Phil Garner, whose Houston Astros were the NL wild-card entry and reached the World Series. Balloting is conducted prior to the start of postseason play. Others received votes were the Milwaukee Brewers’ Ned Yost, the Phillies’ Charlie Manuel, the San Diego Padres’ Bruce Bochy and the New York Mets’ Willie Randolph.

The vote:

2005 NL Manager of the Year

Bobby CoxAtlanta Braves284152
Tony La RussaSt. Louis Cardinals213352
Phil GarnerHouston Astros91138
Frank RobinsonWashington Nationals24729
Ned YostMilwaukee Brewers77
Charlie ManuelPhiladelphia Phillies125
Bruce BochySan Diego Padres114
Willie RandolphNew York Mets11