Hanley Ramirez wins tight race for NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Florida Marlins shortstop Hanley Ramirez was elected the National League winner of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award by the BBWAA in a close vote over Washington Nationals third baseman Ryan Zimmerman.

Ramirez, 21, who batted .292 with 46 doubles, 11 triples, 17 home runs, 59 RBI and 51 stolen bases, placed first on 14 of 32 ballots cast by two writers in each league city, second on 11 and third on two for 105 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. Zimmerman (.287, 47 2B, 20 HR, 110 RBI) appeared on more overall ballots than Ramirez, 29-27, but finished with 101 points based on 10 first-place votes, 16 seconds and three thirds. It was the closest election in the NL since the current system was adopted in 1980. The previous closest had been in 1982 when the Los Angeles Dodgers’ Steve Sax beat out the Pittsburgh Pirates’ Johnny Ray, 63-57, in a race between second baseman.

Prior to 1980, writers voted for one player. The 1976 election resulted in the only NL tie, between pitchers Butch Metzger of the San Diego Padres and Pat Zachry of the Cincinnati Reds.

Marlins second baseman Dan Uggla (.282, 27 HR, 90 RBI, 119 R) received six first-place votes and finished third. The other two first-place votes went to Marlins pitcher Josh Johnson (12-7, 3.10 ERA), who was on one other ballot and ranked fourth. In all, 12 players gained mention, including six Marlins, the most for one club on any rookie ballot.

The vote:

2006 NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Hanley RamirezFlorida Marlins14112105
Ryan ZimmermanWashington Nationals10163101
Dan UgglaFlorida Marlins631655
Josh JohnsonFlorida Marlins2111
Matt CainSan Francisco Giants114
Andre EthierLos Angeles Dodgers114
Prince FielderMilwaukee Brewers22
Takashi SaitoLos Angeles Dodgers22
Russell MartinLos Angeles Dodgers11
Scott OlsenFlorida Marlins11
Anibal SanchezFlorida Marlins11
Josh WillinghamFlorida Marlins11