Roy Halladay adds NL Cy Young to go with AL award

In his first season in the National League, Roy Halladay of the Philadelphia Phillies won the Cy Young Award to go with the American League trophy he won with the Toronto Blue Jays in 2003. Halladay became the fifth pitcher to win the award in each league and the 16th multiple winner.

Halladay was the 13th unanimous choice in NL voting as he received all 32 first-place votes from two writers in each league city to score a perfect 224 points, based on a tabulation system that rewards seven points for first place, four for second, three for third, two for fourth and one for fifth. The BBWAA expanded the Cy Young Award ballot from three to five pitchers this year.

Halladay, 33, posted a 21-10 record with a 2.44 ERA in 33 starts and led the league in victories, innings (250 2/3), complete games (9) and shutouts (4) and was second in strikeouts (219). He pitched a perfect game May 29 at Miami in a 1-0 victory over the Florida Marlins. Balloting takes place prior to the start of post-season play, so his no-hitter over the Cincinnati Reds in Game 1 of the NL Division Series was not a factor in the voting.

St. Louis Cardinals righthander Adam Wainwright (20-11, 2.42 ERA), who finished third in 2009, was the runner-up with 122 points based on 28 votes for second, three for third and one for fifth. Colorado Rockies righthander Ubaldo Jimenez (19-8, 2.88 ERA) was third with 90 points. Halladay, Wainwright and Jimenez were the only pitchers named on all the ballots.

Righthanders Tim Hudson (17-9, 2.83 ERA) of the Atlanta Braves and Josh Johnson (11-6, 2.30 ERA) of the Marlins rounded out the top five. In all, 11 pitchers received votes.

Halladay joined the company of Roger Clemens, Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez and Gaylord Perry as Cy Young Award winners in both leagues. Clemens won six in the AL (1986, ’87 and ’91 with the Boston Red Sox; 1997 and ’98 with the Blue Jays; 2001 with the New York Yankees) and one in the NL (2004 with the Houston Astros). Johnson won four in the NL (1999 through 2002 with the Arizona Diamondbacks) and one in the AL (1995 with the Seattle Mariners). Martinez won two in the AL (1999 and 2000 with the Red Sox) and one in the NL (1997 with the Montreal Expos). Perry won one in the AL (1972 with the Cleveland Indians) and one in the NL (1978 with the San Diego Padres).

Unanimous winners in the NL were Sandy Koufax all three times he won and Greg Maddux twice among his four victories, along with Johnson, Bob Gibson, Steve Carlton, Rick Sutcliffe, Dwight Gooden, Orel Hershiser and Jake Peavy. There has been a unanimous winner in the AL eight times: Clemens, Martinez and Johan Santana twice each, Denny McLain and Ron Guidry.

It marked the seventh time a Phillies pitcher won the award, including Carlton four times. The other winners from Philadelphia were John Denny and Steve Bedrosian. In addition to Koufax, Maddux, Carlton, Clemens, Martinez, Johnson, Perry, Gibson, McLain and Santana, other pitchers to have won the award more than once were Tom Seaver and Jim Palmer three times each, Bret Saberhagen, Tom Glavine and Tim Lincecum twice apiece.

The voting:

2010 NL Cy Young

Roy Halladay, Philadelphia Phillies32224
Adam Wainwright, St. Louis Cardinals2831122
Ubaldo Jimenez, Colorado Rockies4198190
Tim Hudson, Atlanta Braves313439
Josh Johnson, Florida Marlins55934
Roy Oswalt, Houston Astros/Philadelphia Phillies13514
Brian Wilson, San Francisco Giants157
Heath Bell, San Diego Padres114
Mat Latos, San Diego Padres124
Brett Myers, Houston Astros12
Tim Lincecum, San Francisco Giants22
Bronson Arroyo, Cincinnati Reds11
Matt Cain, San Francisco Giants11