Buster Posey wins NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year while leading Giants

San Francisco Giants catcher Buster Posey was elected the National League winner of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award by the BBWAA. It marked the sixth time a Giants player has been honored and the first time since 1975 when pitcher John Montefusco won the award.

Posey, 23, was named first on 20 of the 32 ballots cast by two writers in each league city, second on nine and third on two to finish with 129 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. Voting was conducted before the start of the postseason.

Posey hit .305 with 18 home runs and 67 runs batted in and handled a pitching staff that helped the Giants win the NL West title. His 21-game hitting streak from July 4-28 was the longest of the season by a rookie in either league.

Atlanta Braves outfielder Jason Heyward (.273, 18 HR, 72 RBI) received nine first-place votes and was the runner-up in the balloting with 107 points. St. Louis Cardinals pitcher Jaime Garcia (13-8, 2.70 ERA) got one first-place vote and placed third with 24 points. The other two first-place votes went to Florida Marlins first baseman Gaby Sanchez (.273, 19 HR, 85 RBI), who finished fourth with 18 points. In all, nine players gained mention.

Posey was the sixth NL catcher honored, joining Johnny Bench, Earl Williams, Benito Santiago, Mike Piazza and Geovanny Soto. Catchers who won the award in the American League were Thurman Munson, Carlton Fisk and Sandy Alomar Jr. Other former Giants winners in addition to Montefusco were Willie Mays, Orlando Cepeda, Willie McCovey and Gary Matthews.

The voting:

2010 NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants2092129
Jason Heyward, Atlanta Braves9202107
Jaime Garcia, St. Louis Cardinals111624
Gaby Sanchez, Florida Marlins21518
Neil Walker, Pittsburgh Pirates13
Starlin Castro, Chicago Cubs33
Ike Davis, New York Mets22
Jose Tabata, Pittsburgh Pirates11
Jonny Venters, Atlanta Braves11