Clint Hurdle wins Manager of the Year after ending Pirates playoff drought

Clint Hurdle, who steered the Pittsburgh Pirates to the franchise’s first winning season in 21 years, was voted National League Manager of the Year in balloting by the BBWAA that was announced on MLB Network.

Hurdle, 56, placed first on 25 ballots from the 30 submitted by two writers representing each league city and second on the other five to score 140 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. He was the only manager named to every ballot.

Don Mattingly, whose Los Angeles Dodgers won the NL West title, received two first-place votes and was the runner-up in the balloting with 68 points. Fredi Gonzalez of the NL East champion Atlanta Braves had one more first-place vote than Mattingly but finished third overall with 43 points. The only other manager to receive support was Mike Matheny of the NL Central- and pennant-winning St. Louis Cardinals. Balloting is conducted prior to the start of postseason play.

The Pirates qualified for a wild-card berth with a 94-68 record, the first time they finished a season above .500 since 1992 when they were 96-66 and won the NL East, their previous postseason appearance. Jim Leyland won Manager of the Year honors that season as well as in 1990. Hurdle’s victory marked the third time a Pittsburgh manager was honored. Hurdle’s best previous finish in the balloting was in 2007 when he was with the Colorado Rockies and placed third.

The voting (5-3-1 scoring system):

2013 NL Manager of the Year

Manager, Club1st2nd3rdPoints
Clint Hurdle, Pirates255140
Don Mattingly, Dodgers217768
Fredi Gonzalez, Braves341643
Mike Matheny, Cardinals4719

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each team in the National League. Note that in some cases (*), when a city does not have enough eligible voters, a writer from another city will represent that chapter. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Kevin KernanNew York PostATL*HurdleMattinglyGonzalez
John HarperNew York Daily NewsATL*HurdleMathenyMattingly
Bob NightengaleUSA TODAYAZ Hurdle Mattingly Gonzalez
Dan BickleyArizona RepublicAZHurdleMattinglyGonzalez
Toni GinnettiChicago Sun-TimesCHIHurdleMattinglyGonzalez
Katsushi NagaoKyodo NewsCHI Mattingly Hurdle Gonzalez
John ErardiCincinnati EnquirerCINHurdleMattinglyGonzalez
John FayCincinnati EnquirerCINHurdleMattinglyMatheny
Troy E. Renck Denver PostCOL Hurdle Mattingly Gonzalez
Tracy RingolsbyAt LargeCOLHurdleMathenyMattingly
Hirokazu HiguchiChunichi ShimbunLAHurdleMattinglyGonzalez
Hideki OkudaSports Nippon NewspaperLAHurdleMattinglyGonzalez
Jorge EbroEl Nuevo HeraldMIAGonzalezHurdleMattingly
Craig DavisSouth Florida Sun SentinelMIAHurdleGonzalezMatheny
Tom HaudricourtMilwaukee Journal SentinelMIL Hurdle Mattingly Gonzalez
Todd RosiakMilwaukee Journal SentinelMILHurdleMattingly Gonzalez
Jared DiamondThe Wall Street JournalNYHurdleMathenyGonzalez
Dan MartinNew York PostNYHurdleMattinglyGonzalez
Dennis DeitchDelaware Co. Daily TimesPHI Mattingly Hurdle Gonzalez
Bill EvansSouth Jersey TimesPHIHurdleGonzalezMatheny
Dejan KovacevicPittsburgh Tribune-ReviewPIT Hurdle Gonzalez Mattingly
Michael SanserinoPittsburgh Post-GazettePITHurdleMattinglyGonzalez
Tom KrasovicU-T San DiegoSDHurdleMattinglyGonzalez
Jay ParisU-T San DiegoSDHurdleMattinglyMatheny
Tim KawakamiSan Jose Mercury NewsSFHurdleMattinglyMatheny
Monte PooleOakland TribuneSFGonzalezHurdleMattingly
Joe OstermeierHonorarySTL Hurdle Mattingly Matheny
Tom TimmermannSt. Louis Post-DispatchSTLHurdleGonzalezMattingly
Paul WhiteUSA TodayWASGonzalezHurdleMatheny
Brian McNallyWashington TimesWASHurdleMathenyMattingly