Jose Fernandez becomes first Cuban to win Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Miami Marlins righthander Jose Fernandez, who emerged into a staff ace in his first major-league season, was the National League winner of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award in balloting by the BBWAA announced on MLB Network.

Fernandez (12-6, 2.19 ERA) placed first on 26 of 30 ballots cast by two writers representing each league city and second on the other four for a total of 142 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. He was the only player listed on every ballot and became the first Cuban-born player to win this award in the NL. The only other Cuban-born Rookies of the Year were in the American League: Minnesota Twins outfielder Tony Oliva in 1964 and Oakland A’s outfielder Jose Canseco in 1986.

Another Cuban-born player, Los Angeles Dodgers right fielder Yasiel Puig (.319, 19 HR, 42 RBI), was the runner-up in the balloting. He received the other four first-place votes and was second on 25 ballots to total 95 points.

Fernandez, whose ERA ranked second in the majors only to the 1.83 of the Dodgers’ Clayton Kershaw, topped rookie pitchers in winning percentage (.667), batting average against (.182) and strikeouts (187 in 172 2/3 innings). It marked the fourth time a Marlins player won the award. Fernandez joined Dontrelle Willis (2003), Hanley Ramirez (2006) and Chris Coghlan (2009).

The voting (5-3-1 scoring system):

2013 NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Player, Club1st2nd3rdPoints
Jose Fernandez, Marlins264142
Yasiel Puig, Dodgers42595
Shelby Miller, Cardinals1912
Hyun-jin Ryu, Dodgers1010
Julio Teheran, Braves77
Jedd Gyorko, Padres22
Nolan Arenado, Rockies11
Evan Gattis, Braves11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each team in the National League. Note that in some cases (*), when a city does not have enough eligible voters, a writer from another city will represent that chapter. For more information on the voting process, see our Voting FAQ.

Guy CurtrightHonoraryATLFernandezPuigTeheran
Stan McNealFox Sports MidwestATL*FernandezPuigRyu
Keith LawESPNAZFernandezPuigTeheran
Jack MagruderFOX Sports ArizonaAZFernandezPuigGyorko
Fred MitchellChicago TribuneCHIPuigFernandezTeheran
Pat MooneyCSN ChicagoCHIFernandezPuigMiller
Paul DaughertyCincinnati EnquirerCINFernandezPuigRyu
Bob HunterColumbus DispatchCINFernandezPuigMiller
Jack EtkinHonoraryCOLFernandezPuigArenado
Patrick SaundersDenver PostCOLFernandezPuigMiller
Pedro MouraOrange County RegisterLAFernandezPuigRyu
Michael MartinezFOXSportsWest.comLAFernandezPuigRyu
Clark SpencerMiami HeraldMIAFernandezPuigMiller
Peter KerasotisNew York TimesMIA*FernandezPuigTeheran
Michael HuntMilwaukee J-SMILFernandezPuigRyu
Susan ShemanskeRacine Journal TimesMILPuigFernandezRyu
Jorge CastilloNewark Star-LedgerNYFernandezPuigTeheran
Roger RubinNew York Daily NewsNYFernandezPuigRyu
Chris BranchWilmington (Del.) News JournalPHIFernandezPuigGattis
Jerry CrasnickESPN.comPHIFernandezPuigTeheran
Gene CollierPittsburgh Post-GazettePITPuigFernandezMiller
Ron CookPittsburgh Post-GazettePITFernandezPuigRyu
Dennis LinU-T San DiegoSDFernandezPuigRyu
John MaffeiU-T San DiegoSDFernandezMillerGyorko
Bruce JenkinsSan Francisco ChronicleSFFernandezPuigTeheran
Carl StewardOakland TribuneSFFernandezPuigMiller
Bryan BurwellSt. Louis Post-DispatchSTLFernandezPuigMiller
David WilhelmBelleville News-DemocratSTLPuigFernandezMiller
Nathan FennoWashington TimesWASFernandezPuigRyu
Thom LoverroWashington ExaminerWASFernandezPuigMiller