After being runner-up twice in a row, Mike Trout wins 2014 AL MVP unanimously

Mike Trout was the 10th unanimous winner of the AL award. The others: Hank Greenberg, Al Rosen, Mickey Mantle, Frank Robinson, Denny McLain, Reggie Jackson, Jose Canseco, Frank Thomas and Ken Griffey Jr. There have been six unanimous winners in the National League.

Trout was the second player to win the award after having been the runner-up the previous two years. The other was Mantle, the 1962 AL winner who placed second to New York Yankees teammate Roger Maris in 1960 and ’61. Other MVP winners who ran second the year before they won in the AL were Phil Rizzuto in 1950, Yogi Berra in 1954, Boog Powell in 1970 and Alex Rodriguez in 2003. NL MVP winners who were the runners-up the previous year were Chuck Klein in 1932, George Foster in 1977 and Barry Bonds in 1992 and 2001.

Trout, who was the only player named to every ballot, was the third Angels player honored. The others were Don Baylor in 1979 and Vladimir Guerrero in 2004.

Trout was the third youngest winner of the AL award and the fifth youngest overall. He turned 23 Aug. 7. Cal Ripken Jr. turned 23 Aug. 24 when he won the award in 1983. Johnny Bench was 22 when he won the NL MVP Award in 1970 and turned 23 Dec. 7 that year.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards 14 points for first place, nine for second, eight for third on down to one for 10th.

2014 AL MVP

Player, Team1st2nd3rd4th5th6th7th8th9th10thPoints
Mike Trout, Angels30420
Victor Martinez, Tigers1643321229
Michael Brantley, Indians86541111191
Jose Abreu, White Sox163165221145
Robinson Cano, Mariners116524211124
Jose Bautista, Blue Jays11384153122
Nelson Cruz, Orioles6322211102
Josh Donaldson, Athletics1223365296
Miguel Cabrera, Tigers1222216582
Felix Hernandez, Mariners2111111148
Corey Kluber, Indians11232245
Alex Gordon, Royals112231244
Jose Altuve, Astros1333941
Adam Jones, Orioles13112234
Adrian Beltre, Rangers151122
Greg Holland, Royals11113
Albert Pujols, Angels115
Howie Kendrick, Angels13
James Shields, Royals13
Kyle Seager, Mariners11

View ballots on a separate page.