Max Scherzer adds NL Cy Young after winning in AL

Max Scherzer, a previous winner in the American League with the Detroit Tigers in 2013, joined the company of Roger Clemens, Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, Gaylord Perry and Roy Halladay as Cy Young Award winners in both leagues. Clemens won six in the AL (1986, ’87 and ’91 with the Boston Red Sox, 1997 and ’98 with the Toronto Blue Jays and 2001 with the New York Yankees) and one in the NL (2004 with the Houston Astros). Johnson won four in the NL (from 1999-2002 with the Arizona Diamondbacks) and one in the AL (1995 with the Seattle Mariners). Martinez won two in the AL (1999 and 2000 with the Red Sox) and one in the NL (1997 with the Montreal Expos). Perry won one in the AL (1972 with the Cleveland Indians) and one in the NL (1978 with the San Diego Padres). Halladay won one in the AL (2003 with the Blue Jays) and one in the NL (2010 with the Philadelphia Phillies). Another pitcher who won Cy Young Awards with more than one team was Greg Maddux (three with the Atlanta Braves from 1993-95 and one with the Chicago Cubs in 1992).

Jon Lester and Kyle Hendricks were the ninth set of teammates to place second and third in the balloting. The others: Jack Sanford and Billy Pierce with the San Francisco Giants in 1962, Joe Niekro and J.R. Richard with the Astros in 1979, Maddux and Denny Neagle with the Braves in 1997, Trevor Hoffman and Kevin Brown with the Padres in 1998, Tom Glavine and Maddux with the Braves in 2000, Chris Carpenter and Adam Wainwright with the St. Louis Cardinals in 2009, Halladay and Cliff Lee with the Phillies in 2011 and Zack Greinke and Clayton Kershaw with the Los Angeles Dodgers in 2015.

Scherzer was the only pitcher listed on every ballot.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that awards seven points for first place, four points for second place, three points for third place, two votes for fourth place and one point for fifth place.

2016 NL Cy Young

Pitcher, Team1st2nd3rd4th5thPoints
Max Scherzer, Nationals25311192
Jon Lester, Cubs11692102
Kyle Hendricks, Cubs2787585
Madison Bumgarner, Giants267646
Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers215330
Johnny Cueto, Giants33419
Jose Fernandez, Marlins111918
Noah Syndergaard, Mets113215
Jake Arrieta, Cubs12
Tanner Roark, Nationals11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Dave CameronFanGraphsATLKershawScherzerSyndergaardHendricksFernandez
Guy CurtrightThe Sports XchangeATLScherzerHendricksLesterKershawBumgarner
Steve GilbertMLB.comAZScherzerHendricksLesterSyndergaardBumgarner
Jack MagruderFanRagSports.comAZHendricksLesterBumgarnerScherzerCueto
Katsushi NagaoKyodo NewsCHIScherzerLesterBumgarnerCuetoHendricks
Bruce MilesDaily Herald, Arlington Heights, ILCHIScherzerLesterHendricksSyndergaardFernandez
Matt SnyderCBS SportsCINHendricksScherzerCuetoLesterBumgarner
C Trent RosecransCincinnati EnquirerCINScherzerLesterBumgarnerHendricksCueto
Jack EtkinHonoraryCOLScherzerHendricksLesterBumgarnerFernandez
Thomas HardingMLB.comCOLScherzerLesterCuetoBumgarnerHendricks
J.P. HoornstraSouthern California News GroupLAKershawFernandezScherzerSyndergaardHendricks
Doug PadillaESPN.comLAScherzerHendricksLesterKershawFernandez
Craig DavisSouth Florida Sun SentinelMIAScherzerLesterHendricksFernandezKershaw
Jon HeymanFanRagSportsMIAScherzerLesterHendricksKershawFernandez
Todd RosiakMilwaukee Journal SentinelMILScherzerLesterCuetoHendricksSyndergaard
Tom HaudricourtMilwaukee Journal SentinelMILScherzerHendricksLesterBumgarnerFernandez
Joel ShermanNew York PostNYScherzerLesterKershawHendricksBumgarner
Matthew EhaltThe RecordNYScherzerHendricksLesterKershawBumgarner
Jim SalisburyCSNPhillyPHIScherzerLesterBumgarnerCuetoHendricks
Todd ZoleckiMLB.comPHIScherzerLesterFernandezBumgarnerSyndergaard
Rob BiertempfelPittsburgh Tribune-ReviewPITScherzerJon LesterBumgarnerHendricksRoark
Stephen J. NesbittPittsburgh Post-GazettePITScherzerLesterHendricksBumgarnerKershaw
John MaffeiSan Diego Union-TribuneSDLesterScherzerHendricksArrietaCueto
Bernie WilsonAssociated PressSDScherzerLesterHendricksBumgarnerFernandez
Jorge OrtizUSA TodaySFScherzerBumgarnerHendricksLesterCueto
Alex PavlovicCSN Bay AreaSFScherzerLesterBumgarnerHendricksKershaw
Jenifer LangoschMLB.comSTLScherzerLesterHendricksKershawBumgarner
Mark SaxonESPN.comSTLScherzerSyndergaardJon LesterHendricksFernandez
Todd DybasThe Washington TimesWASScherzerBumgarnerLesterCuetoHendricks
Mark ZuckermanMASNsports.comWASScherzerHendricksLesterBumgarnerFernandez