Another 1st-year manager, Dave Roberts wins NL award

Dave Roberts of the Los Angeles Dodgers became the sixth manager, and third in the last three years, to win the manager of the year award in his first full season as a manager.

The Texas Rangers’ Jeff Banister won in the American League last year and the Washington Nationals’ Matt Williams in the NL in 2014. The other three first-year winners were in the NL: Hal Lanier with the Houston Astros in 1986, Dusty Baker with the San Francisco Giants in 1993 and Joe Girardi with the Florida Marlins in 2006.

It was the third time a Dodgers manager won the award and the first time in 28 years since Tommy Lasorda’s victory in 1988. Lasorda also won in 1983.

Roberts was the only manager named on all ballots.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2016 NL Manager of the Year

Manager, Team1st2nd3rdPoints
Dave Roberts, Dodgers1677108
Joe Maddon, Cubs88670
Dusty Baker, Nationals4121066
Terry Collins, Mets23524
Don Mattingly, Marlins 22

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Ryan FaganSporting NewsATLRobertsMaddonBaker
JJ CooperBaseball AmericaATLMaddonBakerRoberts
Tom VerducciSI.comAZRobertsCollinsBaker
Barry M. BloomMLB.comAZRobertsMaddonBaker
Gordon WittenmyerChicago Sun-TimesCHIRobertsCollinsBaker
Paul SullivanChicago TribuneCHIBakerMaddonRoberts
Mark SchmetzerReds ReportCINCollinsMaddonRoberts
Joe KayAssociated PressCINMaddonRobertsBaker
Tracy L RingolsbyMLB.comCOLCollinsBakerRoberts
Jonah KeriCBS SportsCOLRobertsMaddonBaker
J.P. HoornstraSouthern California News GroupLAMaddonRobertsBaker
Ryota IchikawaJiji PressLARobertsMaddonBaker
Aurelio MorenoEl Sentinel MiamiMIARobertsBakerMaddon
Joe FrisaroMLB.comMIABakerRobertsCollins
Drew OlsoniHeart MediaMILRobertsBakerMaddon
Marly RiveraESPN.comMILRobertsBakerMaddon
Ken DavidoffNew York PostNYRobertsBakerCollins
David LennonNew York NewsdayNYBakerRobertsCollins
Matt BreenThe Philadelphia InquirerPHIMaddonRobertsBaker
Stephen GrossThe Morning CallPHIRobertsBakerMaddon
Ron CookPittsburgh Post-GazettePITMaddonRobertsCollins
John PerrottoUSA TodayPITRobertsBakerCollins
Jay ParisAt LargeSDRobertsMaddonBaker
AJ CassavellMLB.comSDMaddonRobertsMattingly
Daniel BrownSan Jose Mercury NewsSFBakerMaddonRoberts
Janie McCauleyAssociated PressSFRobertsBakerMaddon
Jesus OrtizSt. Louis Post-DispatchSTLRobertsBakerMattingly
R.B. FallstromAssociated PressSTLMaddonCollinsRoberts
William Lloyd LadsonMLB.comWASMaddonBakerRoberts
Mel AntonenMASNWASRobertsBakerMaddon