Yankees slugger Aaron Judge cruises to unanimous Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Courtesy New York Yankees

Aaron Judge was the 10th player to win the AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year award by a unanimous vote and the second with the Yankees, along with Derek Jeter in 1996.

The other unanimous choices: Carlton Fisk, Mark McGwire, Sandy Alomar Jr., Tim Salmon, Nomar Garciaparra, Evan Longoria, Mike Trout and Jose Abreu. There have been 13 unanimous winners in the National League, including Cody Bellinger this year. Judge was the seventh right fielder honored in the AL. The others: Tony Oliva, Curt Blefary, Tim Salmon, Ben Grieve, Ichiro Suzuki and Wil Myers. There have been three right-field winners in the NL.

At 6-foot-7, Judge is the tallest winner of the AL award and matches the record height of two NL winners, the Dodgers’ Frank Howard in 1960 and Rick Sutcliffe in 1979.

This election marked the ninth time a Yankees player has been honored. In addition to Judge and Jeter, other Yankees winners were Gil McDougald in 1951, Bob Grim in 1954, Tony Kubek in 1957, Tom Tresh in 1962, Stan Bahnsen in 1968, Thurman Munson in 1970 and Dave Righetti in 1981. Judge is the second Yankees player to win the award the year after a teammate was the runner-up. Gary Sanchez placed second to Tigers pitcher Michael Fullmer last year.

McDougald’s victory in ‘51 came the year after pitcher Whitey Ford finished second behind Red Sox first baseman Walt Dropo.

It marked the 10th time a player on the Red Sox, who have had six winners, finished second. Other Boston runners-up were Tom Umphlett in 1953, Billy Klaus in 1955, Frank Malzone in 1957, Reggie Smith in 1967, Mike Nagy in 1969, Jim Rice in 1975, Dave Stapleton in 1980, Rich Gedman in 1981 and Jonathan Papelbon in 2006. (Jose Iglesias, the runner-up in 2013, started the year with Boston but was traded to Detroit in mid-season.)

Judge was the only player listed on every ballot.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2017 AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Player, Club1st2nd3rdPoints
Aaron Judge, Yankees30150
Andrew Benintendi, Red Sox23675
Trey Mancini, Orioles51631
Matt Olson, Athletics125
Yuli Gurriel, Astros55
Jordan Montgomery, Yankees114

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the American League. Note that in some cases (*), if there are not enough eligible voters in one chapter, a voter from another chapter will represent that city. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Rich DubroffPressBoxonline.comBALJudgeManciniBenintendi
Dave GinsburgAssociated PressBALJudgeManciniBenintendi
Michael SilvermanBoston HeraldBOSJudgeBenintendiOlson
Peter AbrahamBoston GlobeBOSJudgeBenintendiMancini
Scott MerkinMLB.comCHIJudgeBenintendiGurriel
Paul SullivanChicago TribuneCHIJudgeOlsonBenintendi
Chris AssenheimerThe Chronicle-TelegramCLEJudgeManciniBenintendi
Ryan LewisAkron Beacon JournalCLEJudgeBenintendiOlson
George SippleDetroit Free PressDETJudgeBenintendiMancini
Evan WoodberyMLive Media GroupDETJudgeBenintendiMontgomery
Shi DavidiSportsnet*HOUJudgeBenintendiMancini
Alyson FooterMLB.comHOUJudgeBenintendiGurriel
Justin BoppSB NationKCJudgeBenintendiMancini
Jeffrey FlanaganMLB.comKCJudgeManciniBenintendi
Steve DilbeckAt LargeLAJudgeBenintendiMancini
Hideki OkudaSports Nippon NewspaperLAJudgeBenintendiMancini
John ShipleySt. Paul Pioneer PressMINJudgeBenintendiMancini
La Velle E. Neal IIIMinneapolis Star TribuneMINJudgeManciniGurriel
Pete CalderaBergen RecordNYJudgeBenintendiMancini
Mike MazzeoNew York Daily NewsNYJudgeBenintendiGurriel
Daniel BrownSan Jose Mercury NewsOAKJudgeBenintendiMancini
Janie McCauleyThe Associated PressOAKJudgeBenintendiMancini
Tim BoothThe Associated PressSEAJudgeBenintendiGurriel
Jeff SullivanFanGraphsSEAJudgeMontgomeryBenintendi
Marc TopkinTampa Bay TimesTBJudgeBenintendiMancini
Roger MooneyTampa Bay TimesTBJudgeBenintendiMancini
Kevin SherringtonDallas Morning NewsTEXJudgeBenintendiMancini
Anthony AndroSports XchangeTEXJudgeBenintendiMancini
Steve BufferyToronto SunTORJudgeBenintendiMancini
Laura ArmstrongToronto StarTORJudgeBenintendiMancini