Blue Jays’ Robbie Ray wins AL Cy Young Award

Courtesy Toronto Blue Jays

Robbie Ray was elected as the American League Cy Young Award winner, the fifth time a Toronto pitcher has won.

Other Blue Jays winners were Pat Hentgen in 1996, Roger Clemens in 1997 and ‘98 and Roy Halladay in 2003. Ray and runner-up Gerrit Cole were the only pitchers listed on every ballot.

Ray’s victory total of 13 is tied for the fewest for a starting pitcher over a full season to win the American League award, matching that of the Seattle Mariners’ Felix Hernandez in 2010. The fewest victories overall by a Cy Young-winning starting pitcher in a full season is 10 by the 2018 National League winner, Jacob deGrom of the New York Mets.

This is the second runner-up finish for Cole, who with the Houston Astros in 2019 ran second to then teammate Justin Verlander. 

Ballots, submitted prior to postseason play, were cast by two writers representing each league city. They are tabulated on a system that awards seven points for first place, four points for second place, three points for third place, two votes for fourth place and one point for fifth place.

2021 AL Cy Young

Robbie Ray, Blue Jays291207
Gerrit Cole, Yankees 129123
Lance Lynn, White Sox115548
Nathan Eovaldi, Red Sox 86541
Carlos Rodon, White Sox48634
Frankie Montas, Athletics26321
Lance McCullers Jr., Astros14314
Liam Hendriks, White Sox3110
Jose Berrios, Twins/Blue Jays1138
Chris Bassitt, Athletics 22
Lucas Giolito, White Sox 11
Raisel Iglesias, Angels 11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the American League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Daniel ConnollyThe Athletic BaltimoreBALRayColeLynnRodonBassitt
Roch KubatkoMASNsports.comBALRayColeLynnMcCullersRodon
Sean McAdamBoston Sports JournalBOSRayColeLynnEovaldiRodon
Alex SpeierBoston GlobeBOSRayColeEovaldiLynnMontas
Vinnie DuberNBC Sports ChicagoCHIRayColeLynnMontasRodon
Daryl Van SchouwenChicago Sun-TimesCHIRayColeLynnMontasEovaldi
Mandy BellMLB.comCLERayColeEovaldiMontasLynn
Ryan LewisAkron Beacon JournalCLERayColeLynnRodonEovaldi
Jason BeckMLB.comDETColeRayRodonEovaldiMcCullers
Jon Paul MorosiMLB.comDETRayColeEovaldiMontasBerrios
Brian McTaggartMLB.comHOURayColeMcCullersLynnRodon
Alyson FooterMLB.comHOURayColeBerriosMontasGiolito
Anne RogersMLB.comKCRayColeEovaldiLynnMontas
Dave SkrettaThe Associated PressKCRayColeHendriksRodonIglesias
Nobuhiro SaitoNikkan Sports NewsLARayColeHendriksMcCullersLynn
Jeff FletcherOC RegisterLARayColeLynnRodonBassitt
Betsy HelfandSt. Paul Pioneer PressMINRayColeLynnEovaldiRodon
Phil MillerMinneapolis Star TribuneMINRayColeLynnRodonEovaldi
Bob KlapischNJ Advance MediaNYRayColeRodonLynnEovaldi
Marly RiveraESPN.comNYRayColeLynnRodonMcCullers
Matt KawaharaSan Francisco ChronicleOAKRayColeMontasEovaldiBerrios
Eno SarrisThe AthleticOAKRayColeRodonEovaldiLynn
Daniel KramerMLB.comSEARayColeEovaldiMcCullersMontas
Corey BrockThe AthleticSEARayColeEovaldiRodonLynn
John RomanoTampa Bay TimesTBRayColeEovaldiMontasMcCullers
Mark DidtlerAP Freelance WriterTBRayColeEovaldiRodonLynn
Stephen HawkinsAssociated PressTEXRayColeRodonMcCullersHendriks
Kennedi LandryMLB.comTEXRayColeHendriksLynnBerrios
Arden ZwellingSportsnet.caTORRayColeMontasBerriosEovaldi
Keegan MathesonMLB.comTORRayColeLynnEovaldiRodon