Gabe Kapler wins NL Manager of the Year after leading Giants to 107 victories

Courtesy San Francisco Giants

Gabe Kapler, who guided the Giants to a franchise-record 107 victories, was named National League Manager of the Year. Kapler jumped from eighth place on the 2020 ballot to the top spot in 2021.

This marks the fourth time a San Francisco manager has been honored. Dusty Baker won three times as Giants manager, in 1993, 1997 and 2000. The Giants’ victory total this year is the most of any National League Manager of the Year, topping the 103 by Baker in 1993. The overall record is 116 victories by American League winner Lou Piniella with the Seattle Mariners in 2001.

Craig Counsell was the runner-up in the voting for the third time. He also placed second in 2018 and 2019. The record for runner-up finishes is five and shared by Tony La Russa, a four-time winner, and Ron Gardenhire, who won the award once. Art Howe, who never won the award, placed second in the AL four years in a row with the Oakland Athletics from 1999-2002.

No manager was named on every ballot.

Ballots, submitted prior to postseason play, were cast by two writers representing each league city. They are tabulated on a system that awards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2021 NL Manager of the Year

Gabe Kapler, Giants 281143
Craig Counsell, Brewers 122475
Mike Shildt, Cardinals 131125
Brian Snitker, Braves 4921
Dave Roberts, Dodgers 66

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

NameAffiliation Chapter1st2nd3rd
JJ CooperBaseball AmericaATLKaplerCounsellSnitker
David O'BrienThe AthleticATLKaplerSnitkerCounsell
David BrandtThe Associated PressAZKaplerCounsellSnitker
Barry M. BloomSporticoAZKaplerCounsellRoberts
Eugene McIntoshThe Bigs MediaCHIKaplerShildtCounsell
Paul SullivanChicago TribuneCHIKaplerCounsellRoberts
Mitch StacyThe Associated PressCINShildtCounsellSnitker
Matt SnyderCBS SportsCINKaplerCounsellSnitker
Pat GrahamAssociated PressCOLKaplerCounsellRoberts
Nick GrokeThe AthleticCOLCounsellKaplerShildt
Greg BeachamAssociated PressLAKaplerCounsellRoberts
Beth HarrisAssociated PressLAKaplerCounsellRoberts
Mari MontesEl ExtrabaseMIAKaplerSnitkerShildt
Steven WineAssociated Press (ret.)MIAKaplerShildtCounsell
Andrew WagnerWisconsin State Journal / Forbes SportsMILKaplerCounsellSnitker
Robert MurrayFanSidedMILKaplerCounsellShildt
David LennonNY NewsdayNYKaplerCounsellShildt
Mark FeinsandMLB.comNYKaplerCounsellSnitker
Jack McCafferyDelaware County Daily TimesPHIKaplerSnitkerRoberts
Corey SeidmanNBC Sports PhiladelphiaPHIKaplerCounsellShildt
Jake CrouseMLB.comPITKaplerCounsellShildt
Stephen J. NesbittThe AthleticPITKaplerCounsellShildt
Bernie WilsonAssociated PressSDKaplerCounsellShildt
Jeff SandersSan Diego Union-Tribune.comSDKaplerShildtSnitker
Maria GuardadoMLB.comSFKaplerCounsellShildt
Daniel BrownThe AthleticSFKaplerSnitkerCounsell
Benjamin HochmanSt. Louis Post-DispatchSTLKaplerCounsellShildt
Jeff JonesBelleville News-DemocratSTLKaplerCounsellShildt
Gabe LacquesUSA TodayWASKaplerCounsellSnitker
Todd DybasAt-largeWASKaplerCounsellSnitker