Padres’ Blake Snell adds an NL Cy Young Award to his AL honor from 2018

Courtesy San Diego Padres

Padres’ left-hander Blake Snell, a previous winner in the American League with the Rays in 2018, won the National League Cy Young Award. He joined the company of Roger Clemens, Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, Max Scherzer, Gaylord Perry and Roy Halladay as Cy Young Award winners in both leagues.

Clemens won six in the AL (1986, ’87 and ’91 with the Boston Red Sox, 1997 and ’98 with the Toronto Blue Jays and 2001 with the New York Yankees) and one in the NL (2004 with the Houston Astros, who moved to the AL in 2013). Johnson won four in the NL (from 1999-2002 with the Arizona Diamondbacks) and one in the AL (1995 with the Seattle Mariners). Martinez won two in the AL (1999 and 2000 with the Red Sox) and one in the NL (1997 with the Montreal Expos). Scherzer won two in the NL (2016 and ‘17 with the Washington Nationals and one in the AL (2013 with the Detroit Tigers).

Perry won one in the AL (1972 with the Cleveland Indians) and one in the NL (1978 with the Padres). Halladay won one in the AL (2003 with the Blue Jays) and one in the NL (2010 with the Philadelphia Phillies). Other pitchers who won Cy Young Awards with more than one team were Greg Maddux (three with the Atlanta Braves from 1993-95 and one with the Chicago Cubs in 1992) and Justin Verlander (two with the Astros in 2019 and ‘22 and one with the Tigers in 2011).

This election marks the fifth time a Padres pitcher has won. The other San Diego winners were Randy Jones (1976), Gaylord Perry (1978), Mark Davis (1989) and Jake Peavy (2007), Just as this year with Snell finishing first over Logan Webb, in the previous time a Padres pitcher won with Peavy in 2007, the runner-up was named Webb, the Diamondbacks’ Brandon Webb. Logan and Brandon Webb are not related.

Logan Webb’s runner-up finish is the first time a starting pitcher with a losing record (11-13) placed either first or second in Cy Young Award voting. The only other pitcher with a losing record who was a runner-up was Padres reliever Trevor Hoffman (0-2) in 2006, an election won by Brandon Webb. The only Cy Young Award winner with a losing record was Los Angeles Dodgers reliever Eric Gagne (2-3) in 2003.

Snell was the only pitcher listed on each ballot.

Ballots from two writers in each National League city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards seven points for first place, four points for second place, three points for third place, two votes for fourth place and one point for fifth place.

2023 NL Cy Young

Blake Snell, Padres282204
Logan Webb, Giants11712486
Zac Gallen, Diamondbacks13115668
Spencer Strider, Braves695364
Justin Steele, Cubs128531
Zack Wheeler, Phillies45628
Kodai Senga, Mets33116
Corbin Burnes, Brewers12513

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

NameAffiliation Chapter1st2nd3rd4th5th
Charles OdumThe Associated PressATL Snell Strider Steele Webb Senga
JJ CooperBaseball AmericaATL Snell Webb Senga Steele Burnes
David BrandtThe Associated PressAZ Snell Gallen Strider Wheeler Steele
Barry M. BloomSporticoAZ Gallen Snell Strider Steele Webb
Jordan BastianMLB.comCHI Webb Snell Wheeler Strider Gallen
Katsushi NagaoKyodo NewsCHI Snell Webb Wheeler Gallen Steele
C. Trent RosecransThe AthleticCIN Snell Webb Wheeler Strider Gallen
Charlie GoldsmithCincinnati EnquirerCIN Snell Webb Gallen Strider Burnes
Manny RandhawaMLB.comCOL Snell Steele Strider Senga Webb
Thomas HardingMLB.comCOL Snell Strider Senga Steele Webb
Bill PlunkettOrange County RegisterLA Snell Burnes Senga Gallen Strider
Fabian ArdayaThe AthleticLA Snell Webb Gallen Steele Wheeler
Andre FernandezThe Miami HeraldMIA Snell Gallen Strider Steele Webb
Enrique RojasESPN DeportesMIA Snell Strider Gallen Steele Burnes
Adam McCalvyMLB.comMIL Snell Webb Strider Wheeler Gallen
Steve MegargeeAssociated PressMIL Snell Webb Steele Gallen Strider
Tim BrittonThe AthleticNY Snell Webb Gallen Senga Steele
Anthony DiComoMLB.comNY Snell Webb Gallen Wheeler Burnes
Alex CoffeyThe Philadelphia InquirerPHI Snell Strider Gallen Steele Wheeler
Todd ZoleckiMLB.comPHI Snell Webb Wheeler Strider Gallen
Justice delos SantosMLB.comPIT Snell Webb Gallen Senga Wheeler
Kevin GormanPittsburgh Tribune-ReviewPIT Snell Strider Gallen Wheeler Burnes
Bernie WilsonAssociated PressSD Snell Strider Gallen Webb Steele
Scott MillerAt LargeSD Snell Webb Strider Burnes Gallen
Alex PavlovicNBC Sports Bay AreaSF Snell Webb Strider Gallen Wheeler
Evan WebeckSan Jose Mercury NewsSF Snell Webb Strider Gallen Wheeler
Katie WooThe AthleticSTL Snell Webb Gallen Wheeler Steele
Rob RainsSTLSportsPage.comSTL Snell Gallen Webb Strider Wheeler
Mark ZuckermanMASNsports.comWAS Snell Webb Strider Burnes Gallen
Ken RosenthalThe AthleticWAS Snell Webb Gallen Steele Strider