Orioles’ Buck Showalter wins AL Manager of the Year for the 3rd time

This marks the third victory for Buck Showalter, who also won in 1994 with the New York Yankees and in 2004 with the Texas Rangers. He is the first manager to win for three different clubs in the same league. Tony La Russa also won the award for three clubs – two in the AL (Chicago White Sox in 1983 and Oakland Athletics in 1988 and 1992) and one in the National League (St. Louis Cardinals in 2002).

La Russa and Bobby Cox share the record with four victories overall. Cox won in the AL with the Toronto Blue Jays in 1985 and in the NL with the Atlanta Braves in 1991, 2004 and 2005. Showalter joined as three-time winners Dusty Baker (with the San Francisco Giants in 1993, 1997 and 2000), Jim Leyland (with the Pittsburgh Pirates in 1990 and 1992 and with the Detroit Tigers in 2006) and Lou Piniella (1995 and 2001 with the Seattle Mariners and 2008 with the Chicago Cubs).

Showalter, who piloted Baltimore to its first AL East title in 17 years, was the third Orioles manager to be honored. The others were Frank Robinson in 1989 and Davey Johnson in 1997.

No manager was named to every ballot.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2014 AL Manager of the Year

Manager, Team1st2nd3rdPoints
Buck Showalter, Orioles2531135
Mike Scioscia, Angels411861
Ned Yost, Royals11841
Lloyd McClendon, Mariners15929
Terry Francona, Indians22
Joe Girardi, Yankees11
Bob Melvin, Athletics11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the American League. Note that in some cases (*), when a city does not have enough eligible voters, a voter from another city represents that chapter. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Roch KubatkoMASNsports.comBALShowalterSciosciaYost
Jim HennemanHonoraryBALShowalterSciosciaGirardi
Jason MastrodonatoSpringfield Republican/MassLive.comBOSMcClendonShowalterScioscia
Alex SpeierWEEI.comBOSShowalterSciosciaMcClendon
Doug PadillaESPN Chicago.comCHISciosciaShowalterYost
Katsushi NagaoKyodo NewsCHIShowalterSciosciaYost
Paul HoynesNE Ohio Media Group, Cleveland Plain DealerCLEShowalterYostScioscia
Stephanie StormAkron Beacon JournalCLEShowalterYostFrancona
John LoweDetroit Free PressDETShowalterYostMcClendon
Jon Paul MorosiFOX SportsDETShowalterSciosciaMcClendon
Jose de Jesus OrtizHouston ChronicleHOUShowalterSciosciaMcClendon
David ColemanFort Bend HeraldHOU*ShowalterSciosciaYost
Vahe GregorianKansas City StarKCSciosciaYostShowalter
Dave SkrettaThe Associated PressKCShowalterYostScioscia
Jeff FletcherOrange County RegisterLAShowalterSciosciaFrancona
Jim AlexanderRiverside (Calif.) Press-EnterpriseLASciosciaShowalterMcClendon
Tom PowersSt. Paul Pioneer PressMINShowalterYostScioscia
Patrick ReusseMinneapolis Star TribuneMINShowalterSciosciaMcClendon
Wallace MatthewsESPNNewYork.comNYShowalterYostScioscia
Chad JenningsThe Journal NewsNYShowalterMcClendonScioscia
Jorge OrtizUSA TodayOAKShowalterMcClendonYost
Mark PurdySan Jose Mercury NewsOAKSciosciaYostMelvin
Jim CapleESPN.comSEAShowalterMcClendonScioscia
Jerry BrewerThe Seattle TimesSEAShowalterMcClendonYost
Roger MooneyTampa TribuneTBShowalterSciosciaYost
Marc TopkinTampa Bay TimesTBShowalterMcClendonYost
Anthony AndroFoxSportsSouthwest.comTEXShowalterYostMcClendon
Kevin SherringtonDallas Morning NewsTEXShowalterSciosciaMcLendon
Mike HarringtonBuffalo NewsTORShowalterYostScioscia
Robert MacLeodGlobe and MailTORShowalterYostMcClendon