Nationals’ Matt Williams wins Manager of the Year in debut season

This election marked the fourth time the award went to someone who was in his first full season as a manager. All have been in the NL. The others: Hal Lanier with the Houston Astros in 1986, Dusty Baker with the San Francisco Giants in 1993 and Joe Girardi with the Florida Marlins in 2006.

Matt Williams, who directed the Nationals to the NL East title by a 17-game margin with a 96-66 record, was the second Nationals manager honored and the fourth in franchise history. The other winner in Washington was Davey Johnson in 2012. Winners with the former Montreal Expos (1969-2004) were Buck Rogers in 1987 and Felipe Alou in 1994.

No manager was named to every ballot.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2014 NL Manager of the Year

Manager, Team1st2nd3rdPoints
Matt Williams, Nationals1861109
Clint Hurdle, Pirates812480
Bruce Bochy, Giants33630
Mike Matheny, Cardinals5318
Mike Redmond, Marlins12516
Don Mattingly, Dodgers1912
Ron Roenicke, Brewers13
Bud Black, Padres11
Terry Collins, Mets11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. Note that in some cases (*), when a city does not have enough eligible voters, a voter from another city represents that chapter. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Ryan FaganSporting NewsATL*BochyWilliamsRedmond
Dave CameronFanGraphsATL*HurdleRedmondMattingly
Scott BordowArizona RepublicAZWilliamsRedmondBochy
Paola BoivinArizona RepublicAZWilliamsHurdleMattingly
Jesse RogersESPN ChicagoCHIWilliamsHurdleCollins
Dan McGrathChicago Sun-TimesCHIHurdleWilliamsMatheny
Paul DaughertyCincinnati EnquirerCINWilliamsHurdleMattingly
Bob HunterColumbus DispatchCINWilliamsHurdleMattingly
Benjamin HochmanThe Denver PostCOLHurdleBochyMattingly
Patrick SaundersThe Denver PostCOLWilliamsHurdleRedmond
Jill Painter LopezFox Sports WestLAHurdleWilliamsMattingly
Jon HeymanCBS Sports.comLA*HurdleWilliamsRedmond
Luis E. RangelDiario Las AmericasMIARedmondHurdleBochy
Octavio SequeraESPN Deportes MiamiMIAWilliamsMathenyHurdle
Susan ShemanskeRacine (Wis.) Journal TimesMILWilliamsHurdleMatheny
Michael HuntMilwaukee Journal SentinelMILHurdleWilliamsMatheny
Bob KlapischBergen RecordNYWilliamsMattinglyHurdle
Matthew EhaltThe RecordNYWilliamsBochyRedmond
Stephen GrossThe Morning CallPHIHurdleBochyWilliams
Kevin CooneyBucks County Courier TimesPHIHurdleMathenyBochy
Jenn MenendezPittsburgh Post-GazettePITWilliamsHurdleBochy
Gene CollierPittsburgh Post-GazettePITWilliamsHurdleMattingly
Bill CenterU-T San DiegoSDWilliamsMathenyMattingly
Chris JenkinsU-T San DiegoSDBochyRoenickeHurdle
Ann KillionSan Francisco ChronicleSFWilliamsHurdleBochy
Timothy J KawakamiSan Jose Mercury NewsSFBochyWilliamsHurdle
Stan McNealFox Sports MidwestSTLWilliamsMathenyBlack
Bryan BurwellSt. Louis Post DispatchSTLWilliamsMathenyBochy
Marc LancasterThe Washington TimesWASWilliamsHurdleRedmond
Thom LoverroWashington TimesWASWilliamsHurdleMattingly