Mets’ Jacob deGrom wins 2014 NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award

Jacob deGrom was the fifth Mets player honored. The others: Tom Seaver, Jon Matlack, Darryl Strawberry, Dwight Gooden. DeGrom was the 22nd pitcher to win the NL award. There have been 15 pitchers that won in the American League. DeGrom and Hamilton were the only players named to every ballot. DeGrom’s victory total (9-6) was the fewest for a starting pitcher in a full season to win the award. New York Yankees lefthander Dave Righetti, the AL winner in 1981 when he was a starter, was 8-4 in a season truncated by a 50-day players’ strike.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2014 NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award

Player, TeamFirstSecondThirdPoints
Jacob deGrom, Mets264142
Billy Hamilton, Reds423392
Kolton Wong, Cardinals11114
Ken Giles, Phillies228
Ender Inciarte, Diamondbacks44
Joe Panik, Giants33
Travis d’Arnau, Mets22
Jeurys Familia, Mets22
Kyle Hendricks, Cubs22
Chase Anderson, Diamondbacks11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. Note that in some cases (*), when a city does not have enough eligible voters, a voter from another city represents that chapter. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

NameAffiliationChapterFirst placeSecond placeThird place
Guy CurtrightThe Sports XchangeATLDeGromHamiltonPanik
Justin McGuireSporting NewsATL*DeGromHamiltonWong
Robert NightengaleUSA TODAYAZDeGromHamiltonWong
Jonah KeriGrantlandAZ*DeGromHamiltonGiles
Phil RogersMLB.comCHIHamiltonDeGromWong
Fred MitchellChicago TribuneCHIHamiltonDeGromWong
John ErardiCincinnati EnquirerCINHamiltonDeGromInciarte
C. Trent RosecransCincinnati EnquirerCINDeGromHamiltonHendricks
Barney HutchinsonDaily CameraCOLDeGromHamiltonAnderson
Jack EtkinHonoraryCOLDeGromHamiltonInciarte
Keith LawESPNLADeGromHamiltond'Arnaud
Brian GoldenAntelope Valley PressLAHamiltonDeGromWong
Clark SpencerMiami HeraldMIADeGromHamiltonFamilia
Tom D'AngeloPalm Beach PostMIADeGromWongHamilton
Tom HaudricourtMilwaukee Journal SentinelMILDeGromHamiltonWong
Todd RosiakMilwaukee Journal SentinelMILDeGromHamiltonWong
Ken DavidoffNew York PostNYDeGromHamiltonInciarte
Roger RubinNY Daily NewsNYDeGromHamiltonFamilia
Jerry CrasnickESPN.comPHIDeGromHamiltonGiles
Ron CookPittsburgh Post GazettePHIDeGromHamiltonWong
John FingerCSNPhilly.comPHIDeGromKen GilesHamilton
Karen PricePittsburgh Tribune-ReviewPITDeGromHamiltonWong
Matt CalkinsSan Diego Union TribuneSDDeGromHamiltonHendricks
John MaffeiU-T San DiegoSDDeGromHamiltonWong
Carl StewardOakland Tribune/Bay Area News GroupSFDeGromHamiltonPanik
Ray RattoCSN Bay Area,comSFDeGromHamiltonPanik
Joseph OstermeierBelleville News-DemocratSTLDeGromGilesHamilton
David WilhelmBelleville News-DemocratSTLDeGromHamiltonWong
Paul WhiteUSA TodayWasDeGromHamiltond'Arnaud
Brian McNallyWashington TimesWASDeGromHamiltonInciarte