Terry Francona adds 2nd AL manager of the year award

(AP Photo/Gene J. Puskar)

Cleveland Indians manager Terry Francona, who was previously honored in 2013, is the eighth multi-winner of the award in the AL. Tony La Russa and Buck Showalter were three-time winners. The other two-time winners were Sparky Anderson, Joe Torre, Lou Piniella, Mike Scioscia and Joe Maddon (La Russa, Piniella and Maddon also won once each in the National League).

This election marked the third time an Indians manager won. Eric Wedge was the winner in 2007.

Francona was the only manager named on every ballot.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2016 AL Manager of the Year

Manager, Team1st2nd3rdPoints
Terry Francona, Indians2253128
Jeff Banister, Rangers412864
Buck Showalter, Orioles29744
John Farrell, Red Sox23928
Joe Girardi, Yankees125
Scott Servais, Mariners11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the American League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Ken RosenthalFox SportsBALFranconaShowalterBanister
Dave GinsburgAssociated PressBALBanisterShowalterFrancona
Michael SilvermanBoston HeraldBOSFranconaShowalterFarrell
Peter AbrahamBoston GlobeBOSFranconaShowalterFarrell
Christina KahrlESPN.comCHIFranconaBanisterGirardi
Phil RogersMLB.comCHIBanisterFranconaShowalter
Chris AssenheimerChronicle-TelegramCLEFranconaBanisterFarrell
Ryan LewisAkron Beacon JournalCLEFranconaFarrellShowalter
Lynn HenningDetroit NewsDETFranconaBanisterFarrell
Matthew B. MoweryThe Oakland PressDETFranconaBanisterFarrell
Angel H. Verdejo Jr.Houston ChronicleHOUShowalterFranconaBannister
David BarronHouston ChronicleHOUBanisterFranconaShowalter
Vahe GregorianThe Kansas City StarKCFranconaBanisterFarrell
David SkrettaThe Associated PressKCFranconaBanisterFarrell
Jill Painter LopezFox Sports WestLAFranconaShowalterBanister
Jim AlexanderRiverside Press-EnterpriseLAFranconaBanisterFarrell
Patrick ReusseMinneapolis Star TribuneMINShowalterFranconaBanister
Dan MyersThe Sports XchangeMINBanisterShowalterFrancona
Chad JenningsThe Journal NewsNYFranconaFarrellShowalter
Jared DiamondThe Wall Street JournalNYFranconaBanisterShowalter
Tim KawakamiBay Area News GroupOAKFranconaBanisterFarrell
Eno SarrisFanGraphsOAKFarrellShowalterFrancona
Jim CapleESPN.comSEAFranconaBanisterShowalter
Tim BoothThe Associated PressSEAFranconaBanisterServais
Hal BodleyMLB.com Senior CorrespondentTBFarrellFranconaBanister
Martin FennellyTampa Bay TimesTBFranconaShowalterBanister
Stephen HawkinsAssociated PressTEXFranconaBanisterShowalter
Gil LeBretonFort Worth Star-TelegramTEXFranconaFarrellGirardi
Jeff BlairSportsnetTORFranconaGirardiBanister
Mike HarringtonBuffalo NewsTORFranconaShowalterBanister