Yankees’ Gerrit Cole wins Cy Young unanimously

Courtesy New York Yankees

Yankees’ right-hander Gerrit Cole unanimously won the American League MVP Award, marking the 11th time an AL pitcher has swept the voting.

The others were Justin Verlander in 2011 and 2022, Johan Santana in 2004 and 2006, Pedro Martinez in 1999 and 2000, Roger Clemens in 1986 and 1998, Ron Guidry in 1978 and Denny McLain in 1968. There have been 14 unanimous Cy Young Award winners in the National League.

Cole, who was the runner-up in AL Cy Young Award voting in 2019 (to Verlander) and in 2021 (to Robbie Ray), is the first Yankees pitcher in 22 years to win the award and the sixth overall. Previous Yankees winners were Clemens in 2001, Guidry in 1978, Sparky Lyle in 1977, Whitey Ford in 1961 and Bob Turley in 1958. Cole and Guidry are the only unanimous winners for the Yankees.

Cole was the only pitcher named on every ballot.

Ballots, submitted prior to postseason play, were cast by two writers representing each league city. They are tabulated on a system that awards seven points for first place, four points for second place, three points for third place, two votes for fourth place and one point for fifth place.

2023 AL Cy Young

Gerrit Cole, Yankees30210
Sonny Gray, Twins2063104
Kevin Gausman, Blue Jays7154182
Kyle Bradish, Orioles68539
Luis Castillo, Mariners25523
Zach Eflin, Rays123319
Pablo López, Twins5111
George Kirby, Mariners168
Framber Valdez, Astros146
Chris Bassitt, Blue Jays114
Félix Bautista, Orioles33
Chris Martin, Red Sox11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the American League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Andy KostkaThe Baltimore BannerBAL Cole Gray Bradish Castillo Eflin
Jake RillMLB.comBAL Cole Gray Gausman Bradish Castillo
Sean McAdamMassLive.comBOS Cole Gray Bradish Gausman Castillo
Peter AbrahamBoston GlobeBOS Cole Gausman Gray Bradish Kirby
Paul SullivanChicago TribuneCHI Cole Gray Bradish EflinMartin
Jesse RogersESPNCHI Cole Gray Gausman Bradish Eflin
Ryan LewisAkron Beacon JournalCLE Cole Gray Gausman Castillo Bradish
Joe Nogacleveland.comCLE Cole Gausman Gray Valdez Bautista
Jason BeckMLB.comDET Cole Eflin Gausman Gray Bautista
Jon Paul MorosiMLB.comDET Cole Gray Gausman López Kirby
Javier GonzalezPelota Cubana USAHOU Cole Gray Bradish Gausman Castillo
Alyson FooterMLB.comHOU Cole Gray Gausman Bradish Castillo
Anne RogersMLB.comKC Cole Gray Gausman López Bradish
Joe PosnanskiJoeBlogsKC Cole Gray Eflin Gausman Bautista
Sam BlumThe AthleticLA Cole Gray Gausman Bradish Valdez
Alden GonzalezESPNLA Cole Gray Gausman Castillo Valdez
Bobby NightengaleMinneapolis Star TribuneMIN Cole Gray Gausman Eflin Bradish
John ShipleySt. Paul Pioneer PressMIN Cole Gray Gausman López Castillo
Mark FeinsandMLB.comNY Cole Gausman Gray Castillo López
Bob KlapischStar-Ledger/NJ.comNY Cole Gausman Gray Castillo Bradish
Eno SarrisThe AthleticOAK Cole Gausman Gray López Bradish
Manolo Hernández-DouenBeisbolPorGotas.comOAK Cole Castillo Bassitt Gray Valdez
Daniel KramerMLB.comSEA Cole Gausman Gray López Kirby
Adam JudeThe Seattle TimesSEA Cole Gray Gausman Bradish Kirby
Mark DidtlerAssociated Press FreelancerTB Cole Gray Bradish Gausman Eflin
John RomanoTampa Bay TimesTB Cole Gray Eflin Bradish Gausman
Levi WeaverThe AthleticTEX Cole Gray Gausman Eflin Kirby
Kevin SherringtonDallas Morning NewsTEX Cole Castillo Gausman Gray Valdez
Mike WilnerToronto StarTOR Cole Gausman Bradish Kirby Bassitt
Arden ZwellingSportsnet.caTOR Cole Gray Gausman Bradish Kirby