Bobby Cox wins Manager of the Year

Bobby Cox, who guided the Atlanta Braves to an unprecedented 13th consecutive division title, was elected National League Manager of the Year in balloting by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Cox, 63, a perennial contender in this election, won the award for the second time in the NL and third time overall. His previous victory with the Braves was in 1991. He also won in the American League in 1985 with the Toronto Blue Jays.

Of the 32 ballots submitted by two writers in each NL city, Cox was named first on 22 and second on the other 10 to total 140 points, based on a 5-3-1 tabulation system. He was the only manager listed on every ballot. The Braves won the NL East by a 10-game margin with a 96-66 record.

Four-time winner Tony La Russa, whose St. Louis Cardinals won the NL Central with the best record in the majors at 105-57, finished second in the voting with 62 points, based on three first-place votes, nine seconds and 15 thirds.

Jim Tracy, who led the Los Angeles Dodgers to the NL West title, had as many first-place votes as La Russa but finished third with 52 points. Tracy was second on seven ballots and third on 11.

The other two first-place votes went to the Houston Astros’ Phil Garner, who placed fourth with 27 points. Garner took over the Astros at the All-Star break, and Houston went 48-26 the rest of the way to earn the wild-card berth. Last year’s award was won by a in-season replacement, Florida’s Jack McKeon.

Also gaining mention in this year’s vote were former winners Felipe Alou of the San Francisco Giants and Bruce Bochy of the San Diego Padres.

The vote:

2004 NL Manager of the Year

BOBBY COXAtlanta Braves2210140
TONY La RUSSASt. Louis Cardinals491562
JIM TRACYLos Angeles Dodgers471152
PHIL GARNERHouston Astros24527
FELIPE ALOUSan Francisco Giants114
BRUCE BOCHYSan Diego Padres13