Jason Bay is first Pirate to win Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Outfielder Jason Bay became the first member of the Pittsburgh Pirates and the first native Canadian to win the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award in the National League balloting announced by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Bay, 26, from Trail, British Columbia, batted .282 with 26 home runs and 82 RBI. He was listed first on 25 ballots and second on the other seven submitted by two writers from each league city for a total of 146 points, based on a 5-3-1 tabulation system. The Pirates had been the only pre-expansion club without a Rookie of the Year winner. Four Pittsburgh players previously finished second: first baseman Donn Clendenon in 1962, second baseman Johnny Ray in 1982, pitcher Mike Dunne in 1987 and outfielder-first baseman Orlando Merced in 1991.

The only other player named on every ballot was San Diego Padres shortstop Khalil Greene (.273, 15 HR, 65 RBI), who received the remaining seven first-place votes and totaled 108 points. His teammate, pitcher Akinori Otsuka (7-2, 2 SV, 1.75 ERA), finished third. In all, seven players received votes.

The vote:

2004 NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

JASON BAYPittsburgh Pirates257146
KHALIL GREENESan Diego Padres7241108
AKINORI OTSUKASan Diego Padres12023
AARON MILESColorado Rockies66
MATT HOLLIDAYColorado Rockies33
TERRMEL SLEDGEMontreal Expos11