CC Sabathia ends Indians’ Cy Young drought

C.C. Sabathia of the Cleveland Indians was elected the American League Cy Young Award winner in balloting by the BBWAA. It marked only the second time in the 52-season history of the voting that a Cleveland pitcher was honored. The other was Gaylord Perry in 1972. Perry won a second Cy Young Award, in the National League, with the San Diego Padres in 1978.

Sabathia was listed first on 19 of 28 ballots cast by two writers in each league city and second on eight to total 119 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. The lefthander, 27, who had a 19-7 record with a 3.21 ERA, led the AL in innings (241), was second in complete games (4), tied for second in victories and fifth in ERA and strikeouts (209) for the AL Central champion Indians.

Boston Red Sox righthander Josh Beckett (20-7, 3.27 ERA) was listed first on eight ballots, second on 14 and third on four to finish with the runner-up total of 86 points. Beckett had the AL’s highest victory total and ranked sixth in ERA and seventh in strikeouts (194) for the AL East champion Red Sox, who went on to win the World Series. Voting is conducted based solely on regular-season play.

The other first-place vote went to Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim righthander John Lackey (19-9, 3.01 ERA), who finished third overall with 36 points. Lackey led the league in ERA, was tied for the lead in shutouts (2), tied for second in victories and fifth in innings (224). Five other pitchers received votes.

The vote:

2007 AL Cy Young

C.C. SabathiaCleveland Indians198119
Josh BeckettBoston Red Sox814486
John LackeyLos Angeles Angels of Anaheim151636
Fausto CarmonaCleveland Indians147
Erik BedardBaltimore Orioles11
Roy HalladayToronto Blue Jays11
Johan SantanaMinnesota Twins11
Justin VerlanderDetroit Tigers11