Ryan Braun narrowly wins NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Milwaukee Brewers third baseman Ryan Braun was elected the National League winner of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award by the BBWAA in a very close vote over Colorado Rockies shortstop Troy Tulowitzki.

Braun, 24 next week, was listed first in on 17 of 32 ballots cast by two writers in each league city, second on 14 and third on one for 128 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. Tulowitzki was first on 15 ballots and second on the other 17 for 126 points. The two-point differential was the closest in the NL since the current system was adopted in 1980. The previous closest was in 2006 when Florida Marlins shortstop Hanley Ramirez won over Washington Nationals third baseman Ryan Zimmerman, 105-101.

Prior to 1980, writers voted for one player, not three. The 1976 election resulted in the only NL tie, between pitchers Butch Metzger of the San Diego Padres and Pat Zachry of the Cincinnati Reds.

Braun, who batted .324, led NL first-year players in home runs (34), slugging (.634) and extra-base hits (66), was second in RBI (97), runs (91), total bases (286) and triples (6) and third in hits (146). Tulowitzki, a .291 hitter, was the NL rookie leader in RBI (99), runs (104), hits (179), total bases (292), doubles (33) and walks (57) and was third in home runs (24) and triples (5).

Braun is the second Brewers player to win the award. The other was shortstop Pat Listach in the American League in 1992. Milwaukee shifted to the NL in 1998. The Braves did not have a Rookie of the Year winner during their 13 seasons in Milwaukee (1953-65).

The vote:

2007 NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Ryan BraunMilwaukee Brewers17141128
Troy TulowitzkiColorado Rockies1517126
Hunter PenceHouston Astros1515
Chris YoungArizona Diamondbacks1010
Kyle KendrickPhiladelphia Phillies147
Yunel EscobarAtlanta Braves11
James LoneyLos Angeles Dodgers11