Andrew Bailey wins AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award

Oakland right-hander Andrew Bailey, who emerged as the Athletics’ closer in his first major league season, was voted the American League winner of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award.

Bailey, 25, was listed first on 13 ballots submitted by two writers in each league city, second on six and third on five to score 88 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. Bailey’s 26 saves were far and away the most among AL relief pitchers, since no other reliever in the league had more than two. His 1.84 ERA was also the best among AL rookie pitchers. Bailey had 24 walks and 91 strikeouts in 83 1/3 innings in which he allowed only 47 hits. Opponents batted .167 against Bailey.

Texas Rangers shortstop Elvis Andrus, who batted .267 and led AL rookies in hits (128), runs (72), triples (8), total bases (179) and stolen bases (33), finished second in the balloting by one point over Detroit Tigers pitcher Rick Porcello (14-9, 3.96 ERA). Andrus placed first on eight ballots, second on six and third on seven for 65 points. Porcello was first on seven, second on eight and third on five for 64 points.

It marks the eighth time that an A’s player has won the rookie award, tying the New York Yankees for the most winners in the league. The overall mark is held by the Brooklyn and Los Angeles Dodgers in the National League with 16.

Bailey is the second Oakland closer to win in the past five elections, joining Huston Street in 2005. Other closers elected were Gregg Olson of the Baltimore Orioles in 1989 and Kazuhiro Sasaki of the Seattle Mariners in 2000. Yankees pitcher Dave Righetti was a starter when he won the award in 1981.

The voting.

2009 AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Andrew Bailey, Oakland Athletics136588
Elvis Andrus, Texas Rangers86765
Rick Porcello, Detroit Tigers78564
Jeff Niemann, Tampa Bay Rays5621
Gordon Beckham, Chicago White Sox2410
Brett Anderson, Oakland Athletics114