Chris Coglan wins tight race for NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Florida Marlins outfielder Chris Coghlan was elected the National League winner of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award by the BBWAA. Although he was not on seven of the 32 ballots cast by two writers from each league city, Coghlan out-pointed Philadelphia Phillies pitcher J.A. Happ, the only player named on all ballots.

Coghlan, 24, was listed first on 17 ballots compared to 10 for Happ and finished with 105 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. Coghlan placed second on six ballots and third on two while Happ had 11 seconds and 11 thirds to total 94 points.

Coghlan led NL rookies in batting average (.321), runs (84), hits (162), doubles (31), total bases (232), multi-hit games (51) and on-base percentage (.390) in becoming the third Marlins player honored, joining Dontrelle Willis (2003) and Hanley Ramirez (2006). Happ was 12-4 with a 2.93 ERA and topped NL rookie pitchers in innings (166), strikeouts (119), complete games (3) and shutouts (2).

Atlanta Braves pitcher Tommy Hanson (11-4, 2.89 ERA) received two first-place votes and ranked third overall with 37 points. Also receiving two first-place votes was Pittsburgh Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen (.282, 12 HR, 54 RBI, 22 SB), who was fourth with 25 points. The other first-place vote went to Milwaukee Brewers infielder Casey McGehee (.301, 16 HR, 66 RBI), who was fifth with 18 points.

The voting.

2009 NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Chris Coghlan, Florida Marlins1762105
J.A. Happ, Philadelphia Phillies10111194
Tommy Hanson, Atlanta Braves26937
Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates2525
Casey McGehee, Milwaukee Brewers13418
Randy Wells, Chicago Cubs13
Garret Jones, Pittsburgh Pirates22
Everth Cabrera, San Diego Padres11
Dexter Fowler, Colorado Rockies11
Gerardo Parra, Arizona Diamondbacks11
Colby Rasmus, St. Louis Cardinals11