Indians’ Corey Kluber wins 2014 AL Cy Young Award

Cleveland Indians right-hander Corey Kluber had never received a Cy Young Award vote in any previous election. He was the fourth Indians player honored. The others: Gaylord Perry in 1972, CC Sabathia in 2007 and Cliff Lee in 2008.

It marked the second runner-up finish for Hernandez, who won the award in 2010 and finished second in 2009 to Zack Greinke.

Kluber and Hernandez were the only pitchers named to every ballot.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards seven points for first place, four points for second place, three points for third place, two votes for fourth place and one point for fifth place.

2014 AL Cy Young

Player, Team1st2nd3rd4th5thPoints
Corey Kluber, Indians17112169
Felix Hernandez, Mariners1317159
Chris Sale, White Sox2195378
Jon Lester, Red Sox/Athletics315746
Max Scherzer, Tigers46832
David Price, Rays/Tigers23416
Phil Hughes, Twins146
Wade Davis, Royals33
Greg Holland, Royals11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the American League. Note that in some cases (*), when a city does not have enough eligible voters, a voter from another city represents that chapter. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Ken RosenthalFox SportsBALKluberHernandezPriceLesterSale
Rich DubroffCSNBaltimore.comBALKluberHernandezScherzerSaleDavis
Michael SilvermanBoston HeraldBOSHernandezKluberSalePriceLester
Peter AbrahamThe Boston GlobeBOSHernandezSaleKluberLesterHughes
Dan HayesCSN Chicago.comCHIKluberHernandezSaleLesterScherzer
Naoko SatoNikkan Sports NewsCHIHernandezSaleKluberScherzerLester
Dennis ManoloffThe Plain DealerCLEKluberHernandezScherzerSaleLester
Jim IngrahamNews-HeraldCLEKluberHernandezSaleScherzerLester
Matthew B. MoweryThe Oakland PressDETKluberHernandezSaleLesterScherzer
James SchmehlMLive Media GroupDETKluberHernandezSaleLesterScherzer
Evan DrellichHouston ChronicleHOUKluberHernandezPriceSaleLester
Nick CafardoBoston GlobeHOU*KluberHernandezSaleLesterScherzer
Joe PosnanskiNBC SportsKCKluberHernandezSalePriceDavis
Sam MellingerKansas City StarKCKluberHernandezLesterSaleScherzer
Pedro MouraOrange County RegisterLAKluberHernandezSaleHughesLester
Tim BrownYahoo SportsLAHernandezKluberSaleLesterPrice
La Velle Neal IIIMinneapolis Star TribuneMINHernandezKluberSaleLesterHughes
Patrick BorziHonoraryMINHernandezKluberLesterScherzerSale
Daniel BarbarisiWall Street JournalNYHernandezKluberSaleLesterPrice
Erik BolandNewsdayNYHernandezKluberSaleLesterScherzer
Joe StiglichComcast SportsNet Bay AreaOAKKluberHernandezLesterPriceSale
Matt KawaharaThe Sacramento BeeOAKHernandezKluberSaleLesterPrice
Ryan DivishSeattle TimesSEAHernandezKluberSaleScherzerLester
John McGrathTacoma News TribuneSEAHernandezKluberSaleScherzerHughes
Martin FennellyTampa TribuneTBKluberHernandezSaleScherzerHolland
Joe SmithTampa Bay TimesTBKluberHernandezSaleLesterScherzer
Gerry FraleyDallas Morning NewsTEXKluberHernandezScherzerSaleDavis
Yuzo HayakawaKyodo NewsTEXHernandezKluberScherzerLesterPrice
Ken FidlinToronto SunTORHernandezKluberSaleLesterScherzer
Brendan KennedyToronto StarTORKluberHernandezSaleLesterHughes