Blue Jays’ 3B Josh Donaldson wins 2015 AL MVP

Donaldson is only the second Toronto player honored. The other was George Bell in 1987.

The election marked the eighth time the AL winner was a third baseman. The others were Miguel Cabrera and Alex Rodriguez twice each and George Brett, Brooks Robinson and Al Rosen once apiece (Rodriguez also won once as a shortstop). A third baseman has won in the National League nine times, most recently Chipper Jones in 1999.

Trout, the 2014 winner, finished second for the third time. He was also the runner-up to Cabrera in both 2012 and ’13. The record for runner-up finishes in MVP voting is four, by Stan Musial, who was the NL MVP in 1943, ’46 and ’48 and ran second in 1949, ’50, ’51 and ’57; Ted Williams, who won the AL award in 1946 and ’49 and was second in 1941, ’42, ’47 and ’57, and Albert Pujols, the NL winner in 2005, ’08 and ’09 and the NL runner-up in 2002, ’03, ’06 and ‘10. Trout joins Mickey Mantle (1960, ’61 and ’64) as a three-time runner-up. Mantle also won the AL award three times (1956, ’57 and ’62).

Donaldson, Trout and Cain were the only players on every ballot.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards 14 points for first place, nine for second, eight for third on down to one for 10th.

2015 AL MVP

Player, Team1st2nd3rd4th5th6th7th8th9th10thPoints
Josh Donaldson, Blue Jays237385
Mike Trout, Angels7221304
Lorenzo Cain, Royals20811225
Manny Machado, Orioles411511131158
Dallas Keuchel, Astros38513107
Nelson Cruz, Mariners11142426294
Adrian Beltre, Rangers411732383
Jose Bautista, Blue Jays22434582
David Price, Tigers/Blue Jays1133121262
Jose Altuve, Astros613144
Miguel Cabrera, Tigers111223140
Edwin Encarnacion, Blue Jays132338
Prince Fielder, Rangers411233
Chris Davis, Orioles522232
J.D. Martinez, Tigers113318
Jason Kipnis, Indians111117
Kevin Kiermaier, Rays12110
Kendrys Morales, Royals17
Chris Sale, White Sox14
Mookie Betts, Red Sox114
Jose Abreu, White Sox13
Ian Kinsler, Tigers13
Mike Moustakas, Royals13
Carlos Correa, Astros12
Brian McCann, Yankees12
Eric Hosmer, Royals22
Russell Martin, Blue Jays22
Michael Brantley, Indians11
Wade Davis, Royals11
Brian Dozier, Twins11
David Ortiz, Red Sox11
Alex Rodriguez, Yankees11
Mark Teixeira, Yankees11

View ballots on a separate page.