Carlos Correa the latest SS to win AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award

Carlos Correa is the 14th shortstop to win the award in the American League. The others: Harvey Kuenn, Luis Aparicio, Ron Hansen, Tom Tresh, Alfredo Griffin, Cal Ripken Jr., Ozzie Guillen, Walt Weiss, Pat Listach, Derek Jeter, Nomar Garciaparra, Angel Berroa and Bobby Crosby. Only three shortstops have won in the National League: Alvin Dark, Rafael Furcal and Hanley Ramirez.

Correa is the second Astros player to win the award and the first in the AL. The only player to win the award during Houston’s 51 seasons in the National League was Jeff Bagwell in 1991. The Astros moved to the AL in 2013.

Correa was the only player named on every ballot.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2015 AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Player, TeamFirstSecondThirdPoints
Carlos Correa, Houston Astros1713124
Francisco Lindor, Cleveland Indians13142109
Miguel Sano, Minnesota Twins2020
Roberto Osuna, Toronto Blue Jays228
Billy Burns, Oakland Athletics136
Eddie Rosario, Minnesota Twins22
Delino DeShields, Texas Rangers11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the American League. Note that in some cases (*), when a city does not have enough eligible voters, a voter from another city represents that chapter. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Full NameAffiliationChapterFirstSecondThird
Tim B. KurkjianESPN.comBALCorreaLindorSano
Roch KubatkoMASNsports.comBALLindorCorreaSano
Jen RepublicanBOSLindorCorreaSano
Rob BradfordWEEI.comBOSCorreaLindorSano
Dan HayesCSNChicago.comCHILindorCorreaSano
Dan McGrathChicago Sun-TimesCHICorreaLindorSano
Nick CafardoBoston GlobeCLE*LindorCorreaSano
Paul HoynesNortheast Ohio Media GroupCLELindorCorreaBurns
George SippleDetroit Free PressDETLindorCorreaSano
Matthew B. MoweryThe Oakland Press (Pontiac, MI)DETLindorCorreaSano
Kristie RiekenThe Associated PressHOUCorreaLindorBurns
Jesus OrtizHouston ChronicleHOUCorreaLindorSano
Vahe GregorianThe Kansas City StarKCLindorCorreaOsuna
Dave SkrettaThe Associated PressKCLindorCorreaOsuna
Tim DahlbergAssociated PressLACorreaLindorSano
Brian GoldenAntelope Valley PressLACorreaOsunaLindor
Andy GrederSt. Paul Pioner PressMINCorreaLindorSano
Gregg WongMinnesota ChapterMINCorreaLindorRosario
Brendan KutyNJ Advance MediaNYLindorCorreaSano
Daniel BarbarisiWall Street JournalNYLindorCorreaSano
Jorge OrtizUSA TODAYOAKCorreaLindorSano
Josh DubowAssociated PressOAKCorreaLindorSano
Hideo KizakiJiji PressSEACorreaBurnsRosario
Tim BoothThe Associated PressSEALindorCorreaBurns
Marc TopkinTampa Bay TimesTBCorreaLindorSano
Roger MooneyTampa TribuneTBCorreaLindorSano
Stephen HawkinsAssociated PressTEXCorreaLindorDeShields
Anthony AndroFoxSportsSouthwest.comTEXCorreaLindorSano
Brendan KennedyToronto StarTORLindorCorreaSano
Mike HarringtonBuffalo NewsTORCorreaOsunaLindor