Cubs’ Kris Bryant a unaminous winner of 2015 NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award

Kris Bryant became the 20th player overall and the 11th in the National League to win the award by a unanimous vote. The others: Frank Robinson, Orlando Cepeda, Willie McCovey, Vince Coleman, Benito Santiago, Mike Piazza, Raul Mondesi, Scott Rolen, Albert Pujols and Craig Kimbrel. The nine American League unanimous winners: Carlton Fisk, Mark McGwire, Sandy Alomar Jr., Tim Salmon, Derek Jeter, Nomar Garciaparra, Evan Longoria, Mike Trout and Jose Abreu.

It marked the second consecutive year that Chicago had a unanimous winner with Bryant’s victory following that of Abreu with the White Sox. That happened for San Francisco with the Giants’ Cepeda in 1958 and McCovey in 1959 and for Los Angeles with the Dodgers’ Piazza in 1993 and Mondesi in 1994.

Bryant is the seventh third basemen in the NL and the 11th overall to win the award. The others in the NL: Rolen, Dick Allen, Tommy Helms, Bob Horner, Chris Sabo and Ryan Braun. The four in the AL: Gil McDougald, John Castino, Eric Hinske and Longoria.

It is the sixth time a Cubs player has been honored. The others were Billy Williams, Ken Hubbs, Jerome Walton, Kerry Wood and Geovanny Soto.

Bryant was the only player named on all ballots.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2015 NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Player, Team1st2nd3rdPoints
Kris Bryant, Cubs30150
Matt Duffy, Giants22470
Jung Ho Kang, Pirates41628
Noah Syndergaard, Mets3716
Justin Bour, Marlins114
Joc Pederson, Dodgers11
Stephen Piscotty, Cardinals11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. Note that in some cases (*), when a city does not have enough eligible voters, a voter from another city represents that chapter. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

John ManuelBaseball AmericaATLBryantDuffySyndergaard
J.J. CooperBaseball AmericaATLBryantDuffySyndergaard
Paola BoivinArizona RepublicAZBryantKangDuffy
Nick PiecoroThe Arizona RepublicAZBryantDuffyKang
Patrick MooneyCSNChicago.comCHIBryantKangDuffy
Paul SullivanChicago TribuneCHIBryantDuffyBour
Bob HunterColumbus DispatchCINBryantDuffyKang
Joel ShermanNew York PostCIN*BryantDuffyKang
Patrick SaundersThe Denver PostCOLBryantSyndergaardKang
Jack EtkinHonoraryCOLBryantDuffyKang
Beth HarrisAssociated PressLABryantDuffyKang
Jim AlexanderRiverside (Calif.) Press-EnterpriseLABryantDuffyKang
Marcos Enrique HernándezAgence France PressesMIABryantDuffyPederson
Jorge EbroEl Nuevo HeraldMIABryantDuffyKang
Susan ShemanskeRacine (Wis.) Journal TimesMILBryantDuffyKang
Keith LawESPNMILBryantSyndergaardDuffy
Mike VorkunovNJ Advance MediaNYBryantDuffyKang
Jared DiamondThe Wall Street JournalNYBryantDuffySyndergaard
Kevin CooneyCalkins MediaPHIBryantDuffyKang
Stephen GrossThe Morning CallPHIBryantDuffyKang
Gene CollierPittsburgh Post-GazettePITBryantBourPiscotty
Ron CookPittsburgh Post-GazettePITBryantKangDuffy
Kirk D KenneySan Diego Union-TribuneSDBryantKangSyndergaard
Jeff SandersSan Diego Union-TribuneSDBryantDuffyKang
Janie McCauleyThe Associated PressSFBryantDuffySyndergaard
Carl StewardBay Area News GroupSFBryantDuffyKang
David WilhelmBelleville News-DemocratSTLBryantDuffySyndergaard
Tom TimmermannSt. Louis Post-DispatchSTLBryantDuffySyndergaard
Thom LoverroWashington TimesWASBryantSyndergaardKang
Ken RosenthalFox SportsWASBryantDuffyKang