Cubs’ 2nd-year star Kris Bryant takes NL MVP

Kris Bryant became the fourth player to win an MVP Award the year after winning the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year and the second time in the NL. The other NL player was Philadelphia Phillies first baseman Ryan Howard, who was the Rookie of the Year in 2005 and MVP in 2006. It has also happened twice in the American league, by Baltimore Orioles shortstop Cal Ripken Jr., who was the Rookie of the Year in 1982 and MVP in 1983, and Boston Red Sox second baseman Dustin Pedroia, who was the Rookie of the Year in 2007 and MVP in 2008. Two other AL players won both awards in the same season, Red Sox center fielder Fred Lynn in 1975 and Seattle Mariners right fielder Ichiro Suzuki in 2001. Bryant came within one vote of being the first player to win both awards in consecutive years unanimously.

Bryant was the 17th former NL Rookie of the Year winner to go on to win an MVP Award, most recently Bryce Harper (Rookie of the Year in 2012, MVP in 2015). There have been nine AL Rookie of the Year winners who also were MVPs, including Lynn and Suzuki. Also in those lists are two players who won the awards in alternate leagues: Frank Robinson (NL Rookie of the Year in 1956, AL MVP in 1966) and Dick Allen (NL Rookie of the Year in 1964, AL MVP in 1972).

No NL player has won an MVP Award in his rookie season. Seager was the third NL player to finish as high as third place in the voting. The others were Boston Braves shortstop Alvin Dark in 1948 and Brooklyn Dodgers relief pitcher Joe Black in 1952. Both were NL Rookie of the Year winners in those respective seasons, as Seager was this year.

This election marked the ninth time a Cubs player was honored and the first time in 18 years. Ernie Banks was a two-time winner, in 1958 and ’59. The others were Gabby Hartnett in 1935, Phil Cavarretta in 1945, Hank Sauer in 1952, Ryne Sandberg in 1984, Andre Dawson in 1987 and Sammy Sosa in 1998.

It was the 10th time a third baseman has won the award in the NL. Mike Schmidt was a three-time winner, in 1980-81 and ’86. The others: Bob Elliott in 1947, Ken Boyer in 1964, Joe Torre in 1971, Terry Pendleton in 1991, Ken Caminiti in 1996 and Chipper Jones in 1999. There have been eight winners at third base in the AL, most recently Josh Donaldson last year.

Bryant, Murphy, Seager, Rizzo and Arenado were listed on each ballot.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards 14 points for first place, nine for second, eight for third on down to one for 10th.

2016 NL MVP

Player, Team1st2nd3rd4th5th6th7th8th9th10thPoints
Kris Bryant, Cubs291415
Daniel Murphy, Nationals11110611245
Corey Seager, Dodgers111072240
Anthony Rizzo, Cubs34101012202
Nolan Arenado, Rockies3661131199
Freddie Freeman, Braves112126421129
Joey Votto, Reds1412551100
Yoenis Cespedes, Mets3253145
Justin Turner, Dodgers13143144
Max Scherzer, Nationals1124439
Paul Goldschmidt, Diamondbacks23618
Brandon Crawford, Giants1111115
Jean Segura, Diamondbacks 12714
Buster Posey, Giants11111
DJ LeMahieu, Rockies328
Madison Bumgarner, Giants117
Jeurys Familia, Mets26
Wilson Ramos, Nationals26
Addison Russell, Cubs15
Noah Syndergaard, Mets115
Christian Yelich, Marlins215
Yasmani Grandal, Dodgers14
Kyle Hendricks, Cubs12
Ryan Braun, Brewers22
Yadier Molina, Cardinals22
Charlie Blackmon, Rockies11
Johnny Cueto, Giants11

View ballots on a separate page