Back-to-back: Nationals’ Max Scherzer wins 2nd consecutive Cy Young, 3rd overall

Courtesy Washington Nationals

Max Scherzer of the Washington Nationals won his third Cy Young Award, making him the 10th pitcher to win the award at least that often.

Roger Clemens holds the record with seven (six in the AL and one in the NL). Randy Johnson won five times (four in the NL and once in the AL) and Steve Carlton and Greg Maddux four times each (all in the NL).

Other three-time winners in addition to Kershaw, this year’s runner-up, were Pedro Martinez (two in the AL and one in the NL), Jim Palmer (all in the AL), Tom Seaver (all in the NL) and Sandy Koufax (all in the NL).

Scherzer was the sixth NL pitcher to win the award in consecutive seasons. Maddux (1992-95) and Johnson (1999-2002) each won four years in a row. The other back-to-back winners were Koufax (1965-66), Kershaw (2013-14) and Tim Lincecum (2008-09). Successive victories have occurred five times in the AL: twice by Clemens (1986-87; 1997-98) and once each by Palmer (1975-76), Martinez (1999-2000) and Denny McLain (1968-69).

It marked the second time Kershaw, a three-time winner, has been the runner-up. He ran second to the Mets’ R.A. Dickey in 2012.

Scherzer and Kershaw were the only pitchers listed on every ballot.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that awards seven points for first place, four points for second place, three points for third place, two votes for fourth place and one point for fifth place.

2017 NL Cy Young

Player, Team1st
Max Scherzer, Nationals273201
Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers32511126
Stephen Strasburg, Nationals1233281
Zack Greinke, Diamondbacks1315952
Kenley Jansen, Dodgers25622
Gio Gonzalez, Nationals15518
Robbie Ray, Diamondbacks146
Jacob deGrom, Mets22
Jimmy Nelson, Brewers11
Alex Wood, Dodgers11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. Note that in some cases (*), if there are not enough eligible voters in one chapter, a voter from another chapter will represent that city. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Ryan FaganSporting NewsATLScherzerKershawStrasburgGreinkeRay
Guy CurtrightThe Sports XchangeATLScherzerKershawStrasburgGreinkeDeGrom
Steve GilbertMLB.comAZScherzerKershawStrasburgGreinkeRay
Jack MagruderFan Rag SportsAZScherzerKershawStrasburgGonzalezGreinke
Sahadev SharmaThe AthleticCHIScherzerStrasburgKershawGreinkeNelson
Gordon WittenmyerChicago Sun-TimesCHIScherzerKershawGreinkeGonzalezStrasburg
Dan SzymborskiESPN.comCINScherzerKershawStrasburgGreinkeGonzalez
Zach BuchananCincinnati EnquirerCINScherzerKershawStrasburgRayGreinke
Thomas HardingMLB.comCOLScherzerKershawGeinkeJansenStrasburg
Jack EtkinThe Sports XchangeCOLScherzerKershawStrasburgGreinkeRay
Mark WhickerSouthern California News GroupLAScherzerKershawJansenStrasburgGreinke
Bill PlunkettOrange County RegisterLAScherzerKershawStrasburgGreinkeJansen
Keizo KonishiKyodo NewsMIAScherzerGreinkeGonzalezKershawJansen
Jorge EbroEl Nuevo HeraldMIAKershawScherzerStrasburgGonzalezJansen
Tom HaudricourtMilwaukee Journal SentinelMILScherzerKershawStrasburgGonzalezGreinke
Mike PumaNew York PostNYScherzerKershawStrasburgGreinkeGonzalez
David LennonNY NewsdayNYScherzerKershawStrasburgJansenGreinke
Jayson StarkAt Large
Paul HagenMLB.comPHIScherzerKershawJansenStrasburgGonzalez
Bill BrinkPittsburgh Post-GazettePITScherzerKershawStrasburgGreinkeGonzalez
Adam BerryMLB.comPITScherzerKershawStrasburgGreinkeGonzalez
Bernie WilsonAssociated PressSDScherzerKershawStrasburgGonzalezGreinke
John MaffeiSan DiegoSDKershawScherzerStrasburgGreinkeWood
Alex PavlovicNBC Sports Bay AreaSFScherzerKershawStrasburgGreinkeRay
Chris HaftMLB.comSFScherzerKershawGreinkeStrasburgDeGrom
David WilhelmBelleville News-DemocratSTLScherzerKershawStrasburgGreinkeJansen
Jenifer LangoschMLB.comSTLScherzerKershawStrasburgJansenGreinke
Jamal CollierMLB.comWASScherzerKershawStrasburgGreinkeJansen
Eddie MatzESPN.comWASScherzerKershawStrasburgJansenGreinke