Indians’ Corey Kluber wins 2nd Cy Young in 4 seasons

Courtesy Cleveland Indians.

Corey Kluber of the Indians, who also was honored in 2014, became the 19th pitcher to win multiple Cy Young Awards.

He joins seven-time winner Roger Clemens; five-time winner Randy Johnson; four-time winners Steve Carlton and Greg Maddux; three-time winners Sandy Koufax, Tom Seaver, Jim Palmer, Pedro Martinez, Clayton Kershaw and Max Scherzer (this year’s NL winner) and two-time winners Denny McLain, Bob Gibson, Gaylord Perry, Bret Saberhagen, Tom Glavine, Johan Santana, Tim Lincecum and Roy Halladay.

It marked the fifth time an Indians pitcher has won. In addition to Kluber’s two victories, other Cleveland winners were Gaylord Perry in 1972, CC Sabathia in 2007 and Cliff Lee in 2008.

Kluber and Sale were the only pitchers named on every ballot.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards seven points for first place, four points for second place, three points for third place, two votes for fourth place and one point for fifth place.

2017 AL Cy Young

Team, Player1st2nd3rd4th5thPoints
Corey Kluber, Indians282204
Chris Sale, Red Sox228126
Luis Severino, Yankees206173
Carlos Carrasco, Indians116843
Justin Verlander, Tigers/Astros361132
Craig Kimbrel, Red Sox62527
Ervin Santana, Twins33
Marcus Stroman, Blue Jays22

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the American League. Note that in some cases (*), if there are not enough eligible voters in one chapter, a voter from another chapter will represent that city. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Jerry CrasnickESPN.comBALKluberSaleKimbrelSeverinoCarrasco
Dan ConnollyBaltimoreBaseball.comBALKluberSaleSeverinoCarrascoVerlander
Jason MastrodonatoBoston HeraldBOSSaleKluberSeverinoCarrascoSantana
Scott LauberESPN.comBOSKluberSaleSeverinoCarrascoKimbrel
Colleen KaneChicago TribuneCHIKluberSaleSeverinoCarrascoVerlander
Bruce LevineCBSChicago.comCHISaleKluberKimbrelVerlanderSantana
Zack MeiselThe AthleticCLEKluberSaleSeverinoKimbrelCarrasco
Jim IngrahamElyria ChronicleCLEKluberSaleSeverinoVerlanderCarrasco
Jason BeckMLB.comDETKluberSaleSeverinoCarrascoVerlander
Lynn HenningDetroit NewsDETKluberSaleKimbrelSeverinoCarrasco
MoiseKapenda BowerThe Sports XchangeHOUKluberSaleSeverinoCarrascoVerlander
Richard JusticeMLB.comHOUKluberSaleVerlanderSeverinoCarrasco
David BrownBaseball ProspectusKCKluberSaleKimbrelSeverinoVerlander
Jeff PassanYahoo SportsKCKluberSaleSeverinoVerlanderCarrasco
Maria GuardadoMLB.comLAKluberSaleSeverinoCarrascoVerlander
Jeff FletcherOrange County RegisterLAKluberSaleSeverinoCarrascoKimbrel
Mike BerardinoSt. Paul Pioneer PressMINKluberSaleKimbrelCarrascoSantana
Rhett BollingerMLB.comMINKluberSaleSeverinoVerlanderCarrasco
Ken DavidoffNew York PostNYKluberSaleSeverinoCarrascoVerlander
Bryan HochMLB.comNYKluberSaleSeverinoCarrascoVerlander
John SheaSan Francisco ChronicleOAKKluberSaleVerlanderSeverinoKimbrel
Jorge OrtizUSA TodayOAKKluberSaleSeverinoCarrascoKimbrel
Larry StoneSeattle TimesSEAKluberSaleSeverinoCarrascoVerlander
Bob DuttonTacoma News TribuneSEAKluberSaleVerlanderCarrascoSeverino
Bill MaddenAt Large*TBKluberSaleSeverinoCarrascoStroman
Martin FennellyTampa Bay TimesTBKluberSaleKimbrelSeverinoVerlander
Stefan StevensonStar-TelegramTEXKluberSaleCarrascoVerlanderKimbrel
Evan GrantDallas Morning NewsTEXKluberSaleSeverinoVerlanderCarrasco
Rob LongleyToronto SunTORKluberSaleSeverinoKimbrelStroman
Ben Nicholson-SmithSportsnet.caTORKluberSaleSeverinoCarrascoVerlander