Diamondbacks’ Torey Lovullo wins Manager of the Year in debut season

Courtesy Arizona Diamondbacks

Torey Lovullo of the Arizona Diamondbacks won the National League Manager of the Year after his first year as a major league manager.

This election marked the seventh time overall and the fourth year in a row that the award went to someone who was in his first full season as a major league manager. Dave Roberts of the Dodgers won the award in the NL last year and Matt Williams with the Nationals in 2014. The Rangers’ Jeff Banister was the American League winner in 2015.

The other three first-year winners were in the NL: Hal Lanier with the Astros in 1986, Dusty Baker with the Giants in 1993 and Joe Girardi with the Marlins in 2006.

Roberts is the fourth Manager of the Year runner-up in the NL who had won the award the year prior. He follows the Cubs’ Joe Maddon, who finished second to Roberts last year after having won in 2015. The others were the Pirates’ Jim Leyland in 1991 and Clint Hurdle in 2014.

It was the third time a Diamondbacks manager won the award. Previous Arizona winners were Bob Melvin in 2007 and Kirk Gibson in 2011.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2017 NL Manager of the Year

Manager, Team1st2nd3rdPoints
Torey Lovullo, Diamondbacks1856111
Dave Roberts, Dodgers58655
Bud Black, Rockies361043
Craig Counsell, Brewers34633
Dusty Baker, Nationals16225
Joe Maddon, Cubs13

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Mark BowmanMLB.comATLCounsellLovulloBlack
John ManuelBaseball AmericaATLRobertsCounsellLovullo
David VennMLB.comAZLovulloMaddonBlack
Barry M. BloomMLB.comAZLovulloBakerBlack
Paul SkrbinaChicago TribuneCHILovulloBlackCounsell
Katsushi NagaoKyodo NewsCHIRobertsLovulloBlack
Matt SnyderCBS SportsCINLovulloCounsellRoberts
Hal McCoyDayton Daily NewsCINRobertsBakerCounsell
Pat GrahamAssociated PressCOLLovulloBlackRoberts
Jonah KeriCBS SportsCOLBlackLovulloRoberts
Bill PlunkettOrange County RegisterLALovulloRobertsBlack
Jill Painter LopezFox SportsLALovulloBlackCounsell
Clark SpencerMiami HeraldMIALovulloRobertsBaker
Jon HeymanFanRagSports.comMIALovulloRobertsBlack
Tom HaudricourtMilwaukee Journal SentinelMILLovulloCounsellBlack
Drew OlsoniHeart MediaMILLovulloBlackCounsell
Kevin KernanNew York PostNYLovulloRobertsBaker
Marly RiveraESPNNYLovulloBakerRoberts
Matt BreenThe Philadelphia InquirerPHILovulloRobertsBlack
Jack McCafferyDelaware County Daily TimesPHIRobertsBakerLovullo
Will GravesAssociated PressPITLovulloBlackCounsell
Travis SawchikFanGraphsPITBlackRobertsLovullo
AJ CassavellMLB.comSDCounsellBlackLovullo
Jay ParisAt LargeSDBlackLovulloCounsell
Bruce JenkinsSan Francisco ChronicleSFBakerRobertsLovullo
Ray RattoNBC Sports Bay AreaSFRobertsBakerLovullo
Joe OstermeierBelleville News DemocratSTLLovulloRobertsBlack
Rob RainsSTLSportsPage.comSTLLovulloCounsellRoberts
Gabe LacquesUSA TODAY SportsWASLovulloBakerRoberts
Ken RosenthalThe AthleticWASCounsellLovulloBlack