Already a Hall of Fame player, Twins’ Paul Molitor wins Manager of the Year

Courtesy Minnesota Twins

Twins Manager Paul Molitor, who was elected to the Hall of Fame as a player in 2004, is the second Hall of Famer to be named Manager of the Year. The other was Frank Robinson, the AL Manager of the Year in 1989 for the Orioles. Robinson had been elected to the Hall in 1982.

Manager of the Year winners who were elected to the Hall of Fame as managers after they retired were Sparky Anderson, Bobby Cox, Whitey Herzog, Tony La Russa, Tommy Lasorda and Joe Torre.

This marks the third time a Twins manager won. Previous Minnesota winners were Tom Kelly in 1991 and Ron Gardenhire in 2010.

For the second consecutive year, the AL Manager of the Year runner-up was the previous year’s winner as Francona followed the Rangers’ Jeff Banister.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2017 AL Manager of the Year

Manager, Team1st2nd3rdPoints
Paul Molitor, Twins1864112
Terry Francona, Indians119890
A.J. Hinch, Astros1131256
Joe Girardi, Yankees2612

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the American League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Steve MelewskiMASNSports.comBALMolitorFranconaHinch
Brittany GhiroliMLB.comBALMolitorHinchGirardi
Tim BrittonProvidence JournalBOSHinchFranconaMolitor
Evan DrellichNBC Sports BostonBOSMolitorHinchFrancona
Phil RogersMLB.comCHIFranconaMolitorHinch
Scot GregorDaily HeraldCHIMolitorHinchFrancona
Tom WithersAssociated PressCLEMolitorGirardiFrancona
Anthony CastrovinceMLB.comCLEMolitorFranconaHinch
Noah TristerThe Associated PressDETFranconaHinchGirardi
Jon Paul MorosiMLB.comDETMolitorGirardiFrancona
David BarronHouston ChronicleHOUMolitorHinchFrancona
Brian McTaggartHoustonHOUMolitorHinchFrancona
Jeff ZimmermanFanGraphsKCMolitorFranconaHinch
Joe PosnanskiMLB.comKCFranconaHinchGirardi
Greg BeachamAssociated PressLAMolitorFranconaHinch
Sam MillerESPNLAFranconaMolitorGirardi
Phil MillerMinneapolis Star TribuneMINFranconaMolitorHinch
Patrick BorziAt LargeMINMolitorHinchFrancona
Bob KlapischBergen RecordNYFranconaMolitorGirardi
John HarperNew York Daily NewsNYMolitorFranconaHinch
John HickeyBay Area News GroupOAKFranconaHinchMolitor
Jane LeeMLB.comOAKMolitorFranconaHinch
John McGrathTacoma News TribuneSEAMolitorFranconaHinch
Doug MillerMLB.comSEAFranconaMolitorHinch
Tom JonesTampa Bay TimesTBMolitorHinchGirardi
Hal BodleyMLB.comTBMolitorFranconaHinch
Stephen HawkinsAssociated PressTEXMolitorHinchFrancona
Gerry FraleyDallas Morning NewsTEXFranconaHinchMolitor
Israel FehrThe AthleticTORFranconaHinchMolitor
Mike HarringtonBuffalo NewsTORFranconaMolitorHinch