Bob Melvin joins select company by winning Manager of the Year for the 3rd time

Courtesy Oakland A's

Bob Melvin is the eighth manager to win the Manager of the Year award three or more times. He won in the AL with the Athletics in 2012 and in the NL with the Diamondbacks in 2007.

Bobby Cox and Tony La Russa share the record with four victories apiece. Cox won in the AL with the Blue Jays in 1985 and in the NL with the Braves in 1991, 2004 and 2005. La Russa won in the AL with the White Sox in 1983, with the A’s in 1988 and 1992 and in the NL with the Cardinals in 2002.

Other three-time winners were Dusty Baker in the NL with the Giants in 1993, 1997 and 2000; Buck Showalter in the AL with the Yankees in 1994, the Rangers in 2004 and the Orioles in 2014; Jim Leyland in the NL with the Pirates in 1990 and 1992 and in the AL with the Tigers in 2006; Joe Maddon in the AL with the Rays in 2008 and 2011 and in the NL with the Cubs in 2015, and Lou Piniella in the AL with the Mariners in 1995 and 2001 and in the NL with the Cubs in 2008.

This the fourth time an Oakland manager has won. Melvin won in 2012 and La Russa in 1988 and 1992.

No manager was named on every ballot.

Ballots, submitted prior to postseason play, were cast by two writers in each league city. They are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2018 AL Manager of the Year

Bob Melvin, Athletics18101121
Alex Cora, Red Sox7111179
Kevin Cash, Rays561457
A.J. Hinch, Astros3211
Aaron Boone, Yankees22

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the American League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Roch KubatkoMASNsports.comBALMelvinCashCora
William Lloyd LadsonMLB.comBALCashMelvinCora
Jen McCaffreyThe AthleticBOSCoraMelvinCash
Rob BradfordWEEI.comBOSCoraMelvinCash
Scot GregorDaily HeraldCHIMelvinCashCora
Tony AndrackiNBC Sports ChicagoCHIMelvinCoraHinch
Ryan LewisAkron Beacon JournalCLECashMelvinCora
T.J. ZuppeThe AthleticCLECashMelvinCora
Evan WoodberyMLive Media GroupDETMelvinCoraCash
Pat CaputoOakland PressDETMelvinCashCora
Alyson FooterMLB.comHOUMelvinCoraHinch
Brian McTaggartMLB.comHOUMelvinHinchCora
David SkrettaThe Associated PressKCCoraCashBoone
Maria TorresKC Star/LA TimesKCMelvinCoraCash
Maria GuardadoMLB.comLAMelvinCoraCash
Nobuhiro SaitoNikkan Sports NewsLAMelvinHinchBoone
Patrick BorziAt-LargeMINMelvinCoraCash
Patrick ReusseMinneapolis Star TribuneMINCashMelvinCora
Bryan HochMLB.comNYCoraMelvinCash
Pete CalderaBergen RecordNYCoraMelvinCash
Daniel BrownSan Jose Mercury NewsOAKMelvinCashCora
Eno SarrisThe AthleticOAKCashMelvinCora
Chris CwikYahoo SportsSEAMelvinCoraCash
TJ CotterillThe News TribuneSEAMelvinCoraCash
Marc TopkinTampa Bay TimesTBMelvinCashCora
Tom JonesTampa Bay TimesTBMelvinCoraCash
Kevin SherringtonDallas Morning NewsTEXCoraMelvinCash
Stefan StevensonFort Worth Star-TelegramTEXCoraHinchMelvin
Ian HarrisonAssociated PressTORMelvinCoraCash
Laura ArmstrongToronto StarTORMelvinCoraCash