Braves’ Brian Snitker honored as NL’s top manager

Photo by Kevin D. Liles, Atlanta Braves

Brian Snitker was selected as National League Manager of the Year, marking the fourth time a Braves manager has been honored. Hall of Famer Bobby Cox won the award in 1991, 2004 and 2005 (and also in 1985 in the AL with the Blue Jays).

Snitker is the seventh Manager of the Year winner who did not play in the major leagues. The others were three-time winners Jim Leyland, Joe Maddon and Buck Showalter, two-time winner Jack McKeon as well as Jim Frey and John McNamara.

Snitker was the only manager named on every ballot.

The Brewers have never had a Manager of the Year winner in either league. Counsell is the fourth Milwaukee manager to finish second in the voting. Other Brewers runners-up were Tom Trebelhorn in 1987 and Phil Garner in 1992 in the AL and Ron Roenicke in 2011 in the NL.

Ballots, submitted prior to postseason play, were cast by two writers in each league city. They are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2018 NL Manager of the Year

Brian Snitker, Braves1794116
Craig Counsell, Brewers1113599
Bud Black, Rockies161841
Mike Shildt, Cardinals217
Joe Maddon, Cubs116
Dave Roberts, Dodgers11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Charles OdumThe Associated PressATLSnitkerCounsellBlack
Mark BowmanMLB.comATLSnitkerCounsellBlack
Jack MagruderThe Sports XchangeAZSnitkerCounsellBlack
Richard MorinArizona RepublicAZSnitkerShildtCounsell
Bruce LevineWSCR RADIO/670THESCORE.COMCHIMaddonCounsellSnitker
Sahadev SharmaThe AthleticCHISnitkerCounsellBlack
Joe KayThe Associated PressCINCounsellSnitkerBlack
Matt SnyderCBS SportsCINCounsellSnitkerRoberts
Jack EtkinThe SportsXchangeCOLSnitkerCounsellBlack
Jonah KeriCBS SportsCOLCounsellSnitkerBlack
Beth HarrisAssociated PressLASnitkerBlackCounsell
Brian GoldenAntelope Valley PressLASnitkerShildtBlack
Andre C. FernandezThe AthleticMIACounsellSnitkerBlack
Jorge EbroEl Nuevo HeraldMIASnitkerCounsellBlack
Drew OlsoniHeart Media MilwaukeeMILCounsellBlackSnitker
Todd RosiakMilwaukee Journal SentinelMILCounsellSnitkerBlack
Ken DavidoffNew York PostNYCounsellBlackSnitker
Matthew EhaltThe Record (N.J.)NYCounsellSnitkerBlack
Jim SalisburyNBC Sports PhiladelphiaPHISnitkerCounsellBlack
Todd ZoleckiMLB.comPHISnitkerCounsellBlack
Dejan KovacevicDKPittsburghSports.comPITCounsellSnitkerShildt
Ronald J. CooKPittsburgh Post-GazettePITSnitkerCounsellBlack
AJ CassavellMLB.comSDCounsellSnitkerBlack
Bernie WilsonAssociated PressSDSnitkerCounsellBlack
Janie McCauleyThe Associated PressSFSnitkerCounsellBlack
John SheaSan Francisco ChronicleSFBlackSnitkerCounsell
Benjamin HochmanSt. Louis Post-DispatchSTLSnitkerCounsellMaddon
Joe OstermeierBelleville News-DemocratSTLSnitkerBlackCounsell
Byron KerrMASNSPORTS.COMWASSnitkerBlackCounsell
Eddie MatzESPN.comWASCounsellBlackSnitker