Justin Verlander edges Astros teammate to win 2nd Cy Young Award

Courtesy Houston Astros

Justin Verlander outpolled his Houston Astros teammate, Gerrit Cole, to win the American League Cy Young Award.

This is the first time in the history of AL Cy Young voting that teammates have finished first and second on the ballot. It occurred four times in the National League, including twice with the Diamondbacks’ Randy Johnson and Curt Schilling in 2001 and ’02. The other two times involved Dodgers teammates, Brooklyn’s Don Newcombe and Sal Maglie in the very first election of 1956 and Los Angeles’ Mike Marshall and Andy Messersmith in 1974.

Verlander, who was also honored in 2011 with the Tigers, is the 21st pitcher to win multiple Cy Young Awards, a list that features seven-time winner Roger Clemens; five-time winner Randy Johnson; four-time winners Steve Carlton and Greg Maddux; three-time winners Sandy Koufax, Tom Seaver, Jim Palmer, Pedro Martinez, Clayton Kershaw and Max Scherzer and two-time winners Corey Kluber, Denny McLain, Bob Gibson, Gaylord Perry, Bret Saberhagen, Tom Glavine, Johan Santana, Tim Lincecum, Roy Halladay and this year’s National League winner, Jacob deGrom..

Verlander is the second Houston pitcher to win the award since the Astros moved to the American League in 2013. The other was Dallas Keuchel in 2015. There were two Astros winners during their 51 seasons in the National League: Mike Scott in 1986 and Roger Clemens in 2004.

Verlander is the third former Rookie of the Year Award recipient (AL 2006) to win more than one Cy Young Award. The others are Seaver and deGrom.

Verlander and Cole were the only pitchers named on every ballot.

Ballots, submitted prior to postseason play, were cast by two writers in each league city. They are tabulated on a system that rewards seven points for first place, four points for second place, three points for third place, two votes for fourth place and one point for fifth place.

2019 AL Cy Young

Player, Team1st2nd3rd4th5thPoints
Justin Verlander, Astros1713171
Gerrit Cole, Astros1317159
Charlie Morton, Rays1810175
Shane Bieber, Indians1113564
Lance Lynn, Rangers31218
Eduardo Rodriguez, Red Sox328
Lucas Giolito, White Sox88
Mike Minor, Rangers1127

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the American League. Note that in some cases (*), if there are not enough eligible voters in one chapter, a voter from another chapter will represent that city. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

NameAffiliation Chapter1st2nd3rd4th5th
Joe TrezzaMLB.comBALVerlanderColeBieberMortonLynn
Roch KubatkoMASNsports.comBALVerlanderColeMortonBieberRodriguez
Chris MasonEagle-TribuneBOSColeVerlanderMortonBieberGiolito
Sean McAdamBoston Sports JournalBOSColeVerlanderMortonBieberGiolito
Daryl Van SchouwenChicago Sun-TimesCHIColeVerlanderMortonLynnBieber
Scott MerkinMLB.comCHIVerlanderColeMortonBieberGiolito
Tom WithersAssociated PressCLEVerlanderColeMortonRodriguezBieber
Ryan LewisAkron Beacon JournalCLEColeVerlanderBieberMortonLynn
Jason BeckMLB.comDETColeVerlanderMortonLynnBieber
Jon Paul MorosiMLB.comDETColeVerlanderBieberMortonLynn
Brian McTaggartMLB.comHOUVerlanderColeMortonLynnGiolito
Alyson FooterMLB.comHOUVerlanderColeMortonBieberGiolito
Rustin DoddThe AthleticKCColeVerlanderMinorMortonBieber
Jeffrey FlanaganMLB.comKCVerlanderColeBieberMinorGiolito
Greg BeachamAssociated PressLAColeVerlanderBieberMortonLynn
Jeff FletcherOrange County RegisterLAColeVerlanderMortonBieberGiolito
Phil MillerMinneapolis Star TribuneMINVerlanderColeBieberMortonLynn
Patrick BorziAt LargeMINVerlanderColeBieberRodriguezMorton
Bryan HochMLB.comNYVerlanderColeMortonBieberLynn
Pete CalderaBergen RecordNYVerlanderColeMortonBieberLynn
John SheaSan Francisco ChronicleOAKVerlanderColeBieberMortonLynn
Janie McCauleyThe Associated PressOAKVerlanderColeMortonBieberLynn
Larry StoneSeattle TimesSEAColeVerlanderMortonBieberGiolito
Ryan DivishThe Seattle TimesSEAColeVerlanderMortonBieberLynn
John RomanoTampa Bay TimesTBVerlanderColeMortonBieberMinor
Mark DidtlerAP Freelance WriterTBVerlanderColeMortonBieberRodriguez
Evan GrantDallas Morning NewsTEXColeVerlanderBieberMortonLynn
Jeff WilsonFort Worth Star-TelegramTEXVerlanderColeBieberMortonMinor
Rob LongleyToronto SunTORVerlanderColeMortonRodriguezBieber
Scott MitchellTSNTORColeVerlanderBieberMortonLynn