Mets’ Jacob deGrom cruises to landslide victory to take 2nd straight Cy Young Award

Courtesy New York Mets

Jacob deGrom was named the National League Cy Young Award winner for the second consecutive season.

DeGrom becomes the 20th pitcher to win multiple Cy Young Awards, a list that features seven-time winner Roger Clemens; five-time winner Randy Johnson; four-time winners Steve Carlton and Greg Maddux; three-time winners Sandy Koufax, Tom Seaver, Jim Palmer, Pedro Martinez, Clayton Kershaw and Max Scherzer and two-time winners Corey Kluber, Denny McLain, Bob Gibson, Gaylord Perry, Bret Saberhagen, Tom Glavine, Johan Santana, Tim Lincecum and Roy Halladay.

DeGrom is the seventh NL pitcher to win the award in consecutive seasons. Maddux (1992-95) and Johnson (1999-2002) each won four years in a row. The other back-to-back winners were Koufax (1965-66), Kershaw (2013-14), Lincecum (2008-09) and Scherzer (2016-17). Successive victories have occurred five times in the AL: twice by Clemens (1986-87; 1997-98) and once each by Palmer (1975-76), Martinez (1999-2000) and Denny McLain (1968-69).

This election marks the seventh time a Mets pitcher has been honored. In addition to deGrom last year, other Mets winners were Seaver in 1969, 1973 and 1975; Dwight Gooden in 1985 and R.A. Dickey in 2012.

DeGrom is the second former Rookie of the Year Award recipient (NL 2014) to win more than one Cy Young Award. The other is Seaver.

DeGrom was the only pitcher listed on every ballot.

Ballots, submitted prior to postseason play, were cast by two writers representing each league city. They are tabulated on a system that awards seven points for first place, four points for second place, three points for third place, two votes for fourth place and one point for fifth place.

2019 NL Cy Young

Player, Team1st2nd3rd4th5thPoints
Jacob deGrom, Mets291207
Hyun-Jin Ryu, Dodgers11087388
Max Scherzer, Nationals886472
Jack Flaherty, Cardinals5116469
Stephen Strasburg, Nationals619853
Mike Soroka, Braves169
Sonny Gray, Reds44
Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers13
Walker Buehler, Dodgers12
Kirby Yates, Padres12
Patrick Corbin, Nationals11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

NameAffiliation Chapter1st2nd3rd4th5th
Charles OdumThe Associated PressATLDeGromRyuScherzerStrasburgSoroka
David O'BrienThe AthleticATLDeGromStrasburgFlahertyRyuSoroka
Nick PiecoroThe Arizona RepublicAZDeGromStrasburgFlahertyScherzerRyu
Steve GilbertMLB.comAZDeGromStrasburgScherzerFlahertyRyu
Mark GonzalesChicago TribuneCHIDeGromScherzerRyuFlahertyStrasburg
Katsushi NagaoKyodo NewsCHIDeGromFlahertyScherzerRyuStrasburg
C. Trent RosecransThe AthleticCINDeGromRyuFlahertyScherzerGray
John FayCincinnati EnquirerCINDeGromFlahertySorokaRyuGray
Jack EtkinForbes.comCOLDeGromFlahertyRyuScherzerGray
Thomas HardingMLB.comCOLDeGromScherzerRyuStrasburgCorbin
Mark WhickerSouthern California News GroupLARyuDeGromFlahertyYatesStrasburg
Bill PlunkettSouthern California News GroupLADeGromRyuFlahertyStrasburgGray
Jon HeymanMLB NetworkMIADeGromRyuFlahertyStrasburgScherzer
Jorge EbroEl Nuevo HeraldMIADeGromFlahertyScherzerRyuStrasburg
Tom HaudricourtMilwaukee Journal SentinelMILDeGromFlahertyStrasburgScherzerRyu
Robert MurrayThe AthleticMILDeGromStrasburgScherzerBuehlerFlaherty
Tim HealeyNewsdayNYDeGromRyuFlahertyScherzerSoroka
Mike PumaNew York PostNYDeGromRyuScherzerFlahertySoroka
Matt BreenThe Philadelphia InquirerPHIDeGromRyuFlahertyScherzerStrasburg
Jack McCafferyDelaware County Daily TimesPHIDeGromStrasburgKershawRyuScherzer
John PerrottoUSA TODAY SportsPITDeGromStrasburgScherzerRyuFlaherty
Nubyjas WilbornPittsburgh Post-GazettePITDeGromScherzerRyuStrasburgSoroka
AJ CassavellMLB.comSDDeGromScherzerFlahertyRyuStrasburg
Dennis LinThe AthleticSDDeGromScherzerRyuStrasburgFlaherty
Eno SarrisThe AthleticSFDeGromScherzerRyuFlahertySoroka
Kerry CrowleySan Jose Mercury NewsSFDeGromRyuFlahertyStrasburgScherzer
Mark SaxonThe AthleticSTLDeGromScherzerRyuFlahertyStrasburg
Jenifer LangoschMLB.comSTLDeGromRyuScherzerStrasburgFlaherty
Todd DybasNBC Sports WashingtonWASDeGromScherzerRyuFlahertyStrasburg
Mark ZuckermanMASNsports.comWASDeGromRyuFlahertyStrasburgScherzer