Twins’ first-year skipper Rocco Baldelli wins Manager of the Year

Courtesy Minnesota Twins

Rocco Baldelli of the Minnesota Twins was named American League Manager of the Year.

This election marks the second time in the AL and the eighth time overall that the award went to someone who was in his first full season as a major league manager. The Rangers’ Jeff Banister was the AL winner in 2015. The other six first-year winners were in the National League: the Astros’ Hal Lanier in 1986, the Giants’ Dusty Baker in 1993, the Marlins’ Joe Girardi in 2006, the Nationals’ Matt Williams in 2014, the Dodgers’ Dave Roberts in 2016 and the Diamondbacks’ Torey Lovullo in 2017.

This the fourth time a Twins manager has won. The other Minnesota winners were Tom Kelly in 1991, Ron Gardenhire in 2010 and Paul Molitor in 2017.

No manager was named on every ballot.

Ballots, submitted prior to postseason play, were cast by two writers in each league city. They are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2019 AL Manager of the Year

Manager, Team1st2nd3rdPoints
Rocco Baldelli, Twins13132106
Aaron Boone, Yankees139496
Kevin Cash, Rays33933
Bob Melvin, Athletics31019
A.J. Hinch, Astros11412
Terry Francona, Indians114

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the American League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

NameAffiliation Chapter1st2nd3rd
Steve MelewskiMASNSports.comBALBaldelliBooneCash
Rich DubroffBaltimoreBaseball.comBALBaldelliBooneMelvin
Chris CotilloMassLive.comBOSBaldelliBooneCash
Ian BrowneMLB.comBOSBooneBaldelliMelvin
Vinnie DuberNBC Sports ChicagoCHIBooneCashMelvin
Bruce LevineWSCR radioCHIBooneMelvinBaldelli
Mandy BellMLB.comCLEBaldelliBooneCash
Chris AssenheimerThe Chronicle-TelegramCLECashMelvinBoone
Noah TristerThe Associated PressDETBaldelliCashBoone
Tom GageChapter ChairDETCashBaldelliMelvin
Richard JusticeMLB.comHOUBooneBaldelliHinch
Jesus OrtizLa Vida BaseballHOUBaldelliBooneCash
David BrownFreelanceKCBaldelliBooneCash
Dave SkrettaAssociated PressKCBooneBaldelliHinch
Tomohiko Yasuoka,Jiji PressLABooneBaldelliHinch
Jill Painter LopezFox SportsLABooneBaldelliHinch
Patrick ReusseMinneapolis Star TribuneMINBaldelliBooneFrancona
Dave CampbellAssociated PressMINBaldelliFranconaBoone
Brendan KutyNJ Advance MediaNYBooneBaldelliMelvin
Coley HarveyFOXNYBooneBaldelliMelvin
Daniel BrownThe AthleticOAKBaldelliBooneCash
Manolo Hernández-DouenBeisbolporgotas.comOAKBooneBaldelliMelvin
Tim BoothThe Associated PressSEABaldelliBooneMelvin
Chris CwikYahoo SportsSEABooneHinchBaldelli
Martin FennellyTampa Bay TimesTBCashBaldelliMelvin
Dick ScanlonLakeland LedgerTBBaldelliMelvinCash
Stefan StevensonFort Worth Star TelegramTEXHinchBaldelliBoone
Stephen HawkinsAssociated PressTEXBooneBaldelliCash
Keegan MathesonMLB.comTORBooneBaldelliCash
Ian HarrisonAssociated PressTORBaldelliCashMelvin