Yordan Álvarez only needs 87 games to unanimously win Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Courtesy Houston Astros

Yordan Álvarez is the 11th player to win the AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year award by a unanimous vote and the first for the Houston Astros. The other unanimous choices: Carlton Fisk, Mark McGwire, Sandy Alomar Jr., Tim Salmon, Derek Jeter, Nomar Garciaparra, Evan Longoria, Mike Trout, Jose Abreu and Aaron Judge. There have been 13 unanimous winners in the National League.

Álvarez is the third Astros player to win the award and the second in the AL as he joins Carlos Correa, the 2015 winner. The only player to win the award during Houston’s 51 seasons in the National League was Jeff Bagwell in 1991. The Astros moved to the AL in 2013.

Álvarez played left field in 10 games and was a designated hitter in 74 games. This marks the second consecutive year that a DH won the award as Álvarez followed the Angels’ Shohei Ohtani, who pitched in 10 games and was a DH in 82 games in 2018. The only other full-time DHs to win the award were the Orioles’ Eddie Murray in 1977 and the Royals’ Bob Hamelin in 1994.

The 87 games played by Álvarez, who was called up in early June, are the fewest for any position player named AL Rookie of the Year and the second fewest overall only to the 52 games Willie McCovey, the 1959 NL winner, played for the Giants that year. The previous lowest total for an AL-winning position player was in 2013 by the Rays’ Wil Myers with 88, the same total as 2005 NL winner Ryan Howard had with the Phillies.

Álvarez was the only player listed on every ballot.

Ballots, submitted prior to postseason play, were cast by two writers in each league city. They are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2019 AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Player, Team1st2nd3rdPoints
Yordan Álvarez, Astros30150
John Means, Orioles16553
Brandon Lowe, Rays6927
Eloy Jimenez, White Sox4820
Cavan Biggio, Blue Jays217
Luis Arraez, Twins125
Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Blue Jays125
Oscar Mercado, Indians33

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the American League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Dan ConnollyThe Athletic BaltimoreBALÁlvarezMeansJimenez
William Lloyd LadsonMLB.comBALÁlvarezJimenezGuerrero
Jason MastrodonatoBoston HeraldBOSÁlvarezMeansBiggio
Alex SpeierBoston GlobeBOSÁlvarezMeansJimenez
Tony AndrackiNBC Sports ChicagoCHIÁlvarezMeansJimenez
Paul SullivanChicago TribuneCHIÁlvarezJimenezLowe
Joe Nogacleveland.comCLEÁlvarezLoweMercado
Jim IngrahamElyria ChronicleCLEÁlvarezJimenezMercado
Pat CaputoOakland PressDETÁlvarezLoweMeans
Evan WoodberyMLive Media GroupDETÁlvarezBiggioMeans
Alyson FooterMLB.comHOUÁlvarezGuerreroJimenez
Jesus OrtizLa Vida BaseballHOUÁlvarezMeansJimenez
Lynn WorthyKansas City StarKCÁlvarezJimenezMercado
Sam MellingerKansas City StarKCÁlvarezMeansLowe
Fabian ArdayaThe AthleticLAÁlvarezLoweMeans
Yuichi MatsushitaKyodo NewsLAÁlvarezMeansJimenez
Do-Hyoung ParkMLB.comMINÁlvarezMeansArraez
Betsy HelfandSt. Paul Pioneer PressMINÁlvarezMeansLowe
Lindsey AdlerThe AthleticNYÁlvarezLoweMeans
Anri UechiKyodo NewsNYÁlvarezMeansLowe
Chris HaftMLB.comOAKÁlvarezArraezJimenez
Eno SarrisThe AthleticOAKÁlvarezBiggioLowe
Meg RowleyFanGraphsSEAÁlvarezMeansLowe
Daniel KramerMLB.comSEAÁlvarezMeansArraez
Josh TolentinoThe AthleticTBÁlvarezMeansLowe
Eduardo A. EncinaTampa Bay TimesTBÁlvarezLoweMeans
Mac EngelFort Worth Star-TelegramTEXÁlvarezMeansGuerrero
Kevin SherringtonDallas Morning NewsTEXÁlvarezMeansLowe
Laura ArmstrongToronto StarTORÁlvarezLoweJimenez
Arden ZwellingSportsnet.caTORÁlvarezMeansLowe