MLB home run leader Pete Alonso wins NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Courtesy New York Mets

Pete Alonso of the New York Mets has been named the 2019 National League Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year, marking the sixth time a Mets player has been honored. Previous winners were Tom Seaver in 1967, Jon Matlack in 1972, Darryl Strawberry in 1983, Dwight Gooden in 1984 and Jacob deGrom in 2014. 

Alonso is the sixth first baseman to win the NL award. The others were Jackie Robinson in 1947, Orlando Cepeda in 1958, Willie McCovey in 1959, Ryan Howard in 2005 and Cody Bellinger in 2017. There have been seven first basemen to win the award in the American League.

Alonso is the first Rookie of the Year Award winner who led the major leagues in home runs outright, with 53. The Athletics’ Mark McGwire, the AL winner in 1987, tied for the major-league lead that year with the Cubs’ Andre Dawson, the NL leader, with 49. The Yankees’ Aaron Judge led the AL in home runs with 52 in 2017, the year he was named Rookie of the Year, but was second overall to current teammate Giancarlo Stanton, who led the majors that year with 59 in the NL for the Marlins.

Alonso was the only player named on every ballot.

Ballots, submitted prior to postseason play, were cast by two writers in each league city. They are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2019 NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Pete Alonso, Mets291148
Mike Soroka, Braves125282
Fernando Tatis Jr., Padres22026
Bryan Reynolds, Pirates169
Dakota Hudson, Cardinals114
Victor Robles, Nationals11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. Note that in some cases (*), if there are not enough eligible voters in one chapter, a voter from another chapter will represent that city.  For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

JJ CooperBaseball AmericaATLAlonsoSorokaTatis
Kyle GlaserBaseball AmericaATLAlonsoSorokaTatis
Jesse SanchezMLB.comAZAlonsoSorokaReynolds
Barry M. BloomHonoraryAZAlonsoTatisHudson
Gordon WittenmyerChicago Sun-TimesCHIAlonsoSorokaTatis
Bruce MilesDaily HeraldCHIAlonsoSorokaTatis
Mark SchmetzerReds ReportCINAlonsoHudsonReynolds
Dan SzymborskiFanGraphsCINAlonsoSorokaTatis
Pat GrahamAssociated PressCOLAlonsoSorokaTatis
Nick GrokeThe AthleticCOLAlonsoTatisSoroka
Hideki OkudaSports Nippon NewspaperLAAlonsoSorokaTatis
Jim AlexanderSouthern California News GroupLAAlonsoSorokaTatis
Roberto ColonEl Nuevo DiaMIAAlonsoSorokaTatis
Wells DusenburySouth Florida Sun SentinelMIAAlonsoSorokaTatis
Joel ShermanNew York Post*MILAlonsoSorokaReynolds
Tom HaudricourtMilwaukee Journal SentinelMILAlonsoSorokaReynolds
Ken DavidoffNew York PostNYAlonsoSorokaRobles
Deesha ThosarNew York Daily NewsNYAlonsoSorokaTatis
Meghan MontemurroThe AthleticPHIAlonsoSorokaTatis
Todd ZoleckiMLB.comPHIAlonsoSorokaTatis
Ron CookPittsburgh Post-GazettePITAlonsoSorokaTatis
Jason MackeyPittsburgh Post-GazettePITAlonsoSorokaReynolds
John MaffeiSan Diego Union TribuneSDAlonsoSorokaTatis
Bernie WilsonAssociated PressSDAlonsoSorokaTatis
Andrew BaggarlyThe AthleticSFSorokaAlonsoTatis
Maria GuardadoMLB.comSFAlonsoSorokaTatis
Ben FredericksonSt. Louis Post-DispatchSTLAlonsoReynoldsSoroka
Benjamin HochmanSt. Louis Post-DispatchSTLAlonsoSorokaTatis
Eddie MatzESPNWASAlonsoSorokaTatis
Byron KerrMASNSports.comWASAlonsoSorokaReynolds