Marlins skipper Don Mattingly joins list of former MVPs to win Manager of the Year award

Don Mattingly (Courtesy Joe Guzy/Miami Marlins)

Marlins Manager Don Mattingly was named NL Manager of the Year, adding the honor to a Most Valuable Player award as a player.

Mattingly is the fifth former winner of the MVP to be honored later as a Manager of the Year. He was the American League MVP in 1985 with the Yankees.

The others to do so: Frank Robinson, NL MVP in 1961 with the Reds and American League MVP with the Orioles in 1966 and AL Manager of the Year with the Orioles in 1989; Don Baylor, AL MVP with the Angels in 1979 and NL Manager of the Year with the Rockies in 1995; Joe Torre, NL MVP with the Cardinals in 1971 and AL Manager of the Year with the Yankees in 1996 (tied with the Rangers’ Johnny Oates) and 1998, and Kirk Gibson, NL MVP with the Dodgers in 1988 and NL Manager of the Year with the Diamondbacks in 2011.

Mattingly is the third Marlins manager to be honored. The others were Joe Girardi in 2006 and Jack McKeon in 2003.

No manager was named on every ballot.

Ballots, submitted prior to postseason play, were cast by two writers representing each league city. They are tabulated on a system that awards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third.

2020 NL Manager of the Year

Don Mattingly, Marlins208124
Jayce Tingler, Padres613271
David Ross, Cubs121425
Brian Snitker, Braves12516
Dave Roberts, Dodgers12213
Mike Shildt, Cardinals3110
Craig Counsell, Brewers116
Gabe Kapler, Giants33
David Bell, Reds22

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. Note that in some cases (*), if there are not enough eligible voters in one chapter, a voter from another chapter will represent that city.  For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Mark BowmanMLB.comATLSnitkerMattinglyRoss
Charles OdumThe Associated PressATLMattinglySnitkerTingler
Barry M. BloomSporticoAZMattinglyTinglerRoss
Jesse SanchezMLB.comAZMattinglyRobertsShildt
Sahadev SharmaThe AthleticCHIMattinglyTinglerRoss
Jordan BastianMLB.comCHIMattinglyRossSnitker
Matt SnyderCBS SportsCINTinglerMattinglyRoss
Mark SchmetzerReds ReportCINMattinglyRossBell
Pat GrahamAssociated PressCOLTinglerMattinglyRoberts
Nick GrokeThe AthleticCOLRobertsMattinglySnitker
Brian GoldenAntelope Valley PressLATinglerMattinglyRoss
Joe ReedyThe Associated PressLAMattinglyTinglerRoss
Marcos E. HernándezAFPMIARossMattinglyCounsell
Peter KerasotisAt LargeMIAMattinglyTinglerRoss
Drew OlsoniHeart Media MilwaukeeMILMattinglyTinglerRoss
Joel ShermanNew York Post*MILMattinglySnitkerRoberts
Nathalie AlonsoMLB.comNYMattinglyTinglerRoss
Tom VerducciSports IllustratedNYMattinglyTinglerSnitker
Matt BreenThe Philadelphia InquirerPHIMattinglyTinglerSnitker
Mike McGarryPress of Atlantic CityPHIMattinglyTinglerRoss
Kevin GormanTribune ReviewPITMattinglyShildtTingler
Ron CookPittsburgh Post-GazettePITMattinglyShildtRoss
Bernie WilsonAssociated PressSDTinglerMattinglyRoss
Bryce MillerSan Diego Union-TribuneSDMattinglyTinglerRoss
Ann KillionSan Francisco ChronicleSFTinglerMattinglyKapler
Henry SchulmanSan Francisco ChronicleSFMattinglyTinglerKapler
Ben FredericksonSt. Louis Post-DispatchSTLMattinglyShildtRoss
Mark SaxonThe AthleticSTLMattinglyTinglerKapler
Jessica CameratoMLB.comWASTinglerRobertsSnitker
Byron KerrMasnsports.comWASCounsellTinglerBell